Logo orange

Cam Bonneville

Versailles, Île-de-France, France

Wants to Meet Up

100% response rate · Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cam's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 39 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, Indonesian; learning Italian, Malay, Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • mainly breathing
  • University in France : BA in Indones...
  • From Viroflay, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*Please read profile before writing couchrequest, and prove it*

Bienvenue/Welcome/Bienvenutti/Selamat datang !

In a few words : Born and raised in France but always attracted by the outside !

I'm currently doing a 6-month internship in a solar energy company in Paris in order to be done with my masters in sustainable development.
I just moved from Bordeaux, currently staying with my family in the suburbs in Versailles. I can't host for the moment but willing to meet some people !

I love getting out of the routine/"rat race"/comfort zone. Traveling is a good way to do it. Many times it gave me the chance to meet tons of good and inspiring people, enjoy life, have lots of fun, because I have the conviction that life is a cool little playground.

However, in a few words I could describe myself as serious/quiet/passionate/idealistic/crazy/speedy, my mood kind of depends on the weather and the people around... I'm just thankful for this beautiful life I have til now and I'm trying to enjoy my 20's as much as possible !

PHILOSOPHY
"Life begins at the end of your comfort zone"
(Neale Donald Walsch)
"Come foth into the light of things - Let nature be your teacher" - William wordsworth
"La terre est bleue comme une orange" - Paul Eluard
"Closer to the land, closer to each other" - Jamie Bastedo

Life is a mine, you just gotta find the golden chunks...

I am attached to nature and I try to reconnect with it as often as possible (while hikking, scouting, traveling etc.)
As a humanistic, I also believe in people power. Yes guys, I have faith in us to change the world ;)

And I steal you 2 minutes of your precious time to read this cool one :
"One evening an old Cherokee told his grandson
about a battle that goes on inside people.
He said, My son, the battle is between two wolves€ inside us all.
"The black one is Evil. It is anger, envy, jealousy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.
"The white one is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion and faith.
The grandson thought about it for a minute
and then asked his grandfather: "€œWhich wolf wins?"

The old Cherokee simply replied, "€œThe one you feed€"...

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

hosting and being hosted is all about inspire people and getting inspired !

My very first experience was in february'11. Was a pleasure to host 2 nice peeps from Malaysia in my tiny flat and take them to places I like in Paris. 6 months later i went to Malaysia at Kid's place, very cool exchange !
That was the first good ECsperience of a long list :)

Interests

I use to play music which is a universal language ! (guitar, bassoon, flute, voice)
I also like cooking, bicycle riding, walking, partying but not all the time, hiking & camping, hanging out, etc !
I like sharing values about sustainable/alternative ways of life and I like getting involved in youth empowerment/volunteering activities.

Music, Movies & Books

I love music, playing guitar and make people sing.
I like almost every kind of music, included the beatles, supertramp, tracy chapman, beach boys, cat stevens, the eagles, pink floyd, all kinds of reggae/ska, rock, daft punk, french music (chanson française sisi!), les cowboys fringants, queen, matt costa, mumford & sons, Eddie Vedder, some classical, winston mc anuff, etc.

One of my favourite movies is La Belle Verte, a french movie out of the mainstream.
I'm not a big reader... Although I always bring one book in my backpack : "The Prophet" from Khalil Gibran. A sweet little piece of wisdom...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I try to live amazing things everyday.

- 2 trips and an internship in delightful Indonesia in 2011 and 2013, 2014. I would say Indonesia is pretty much like my second country.
- A very educating gapyear in Canada 2012-2013, hitch-hiking from East to West with my backpack, guitar and little person, living day-to-day, using CSing and mainly wwoofing (work on organic farms).

However, I already experienced :
- bus in Mali, 15h non stop, with a 39°c fever
- aurora borealis, dog mushing, snowmobile riding, ice fishing in northern Canada, hitch-hiking +5000km in the winter (was sometimes -20°c)
- sunsets, full moons, watching stars in summer...
- living in a family in Vietnam for 10 days when I was 16 years old. My first cultural shock !
- being part of a youth orchestra during 5 years and touring around Europe/US every year.
- Doing wwoofing in a spiritual community.
- trekking 3 days in a jungle, seing orang-utans.
- Eating dog meat in a Batak restaurant in Jakarta !
And loooot more :)

Teach, Learn, Share

What I can teach : the basis of western music theory (got a certificate hu huuu), a little bit of guitar, songs and french pastries, how to make yogurt with a rice cooker, how to brew Kombucha (probiotic fermented tea), french from France bien sûr, anything related to my studies (southeast asia, local development, farmers rights and land grabbing in Indonesia, renewable energies developement esp solar, climate negociations), knitting, crocheting and crafty stuff like that.

... Learn : 2 things I'd love to learn & practice are LATIN DANCE (salsa, cumbia, bachata..) & CHESS!
I think that everybody is able to learn me something cool whatever it's useful - or not! If you have no idea, since I'm passionnated by languages, I'd be glad to practice, esp spanish !!
I also just got a cool camera and would be happy to know a bit more about photography (settings, framing etc.)

...Share : my guitar, my personnal receipe book, my values and philosophy, silly jokes, anecdotes and pics from my trips, tips related to backpacking /hitchhiking. Spicy indonesian cigarettes and talks.

What I Can Share With Hosts

My time ! A little bit though, cause I'm working everyday now.
Café, drinks, picnics, walks in town : the activity will depend on our mood.

/!\
When you write your request, please mention your favorite disney movie or cartoon on top of your message so I can know that you red all my description ! thanks and looking forward to meet you !

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Mali, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, France, Indonesia

Join Couchsurfing to see Cam's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile