Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see CAMLETROUBADOUR’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, German; learning Spanish
  • 45, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Musician/sculptor
  • Autodidact
  • From Amsterdam
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Looking for the top of the world ^^

ABOUT ME

I'm a dutch guy living in Sète, in the south of France. I'm a singer songwriter with more than 20 years of experience as a busker. I've recently released my self produced debut album, for more info and tour dates: www.camletroubadour.bandcamp.com and https://www.facebook.com/cam.le.troubadour

PHILOSOPHY

I need to be outdoors to feel good about life. It's been years since I've lived in a house or appartment. First my tent and now my boat, as much as I love people, the further away from large concentrations of them I live, the better I feel.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I support the idea of couches being ideal for surfing!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Shame about the change from ".org" to ".com"... But hey, times they are a changing and we, we can't but follow suit... Or is it the other way around?

Interests

Besides being a musician, I grow and prosper through the learning of language(s), devour books when I'm hungry (which is almost always) and, as loyally as lovingly, follow independent and less independent cinema's progress and prowess. Interested in conspiracy theories and counter conspiracy theories but more so in the facts of life and the way of the world; The New World Order doesn't bother me but the fact that I still don't live and love wholly within Mother Nature does.

  • arts
  • books
  • singing
  • cooking
  • boating
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • violin
  • blues
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • camping
  • surfing
  • sailing

Music, Movies, and Books

Music? It's an absolute need in my life, making it, listening to it and sharing it. I'm a longtime fan of David Sylvian but I also love Pergolesi, Vivaldi, Albinoni, Purcell, Barber, Korn, the Deftones, Tool, Uneven Structure, Rammstein, Tom Waits, 16 horsepower, Radiohead, Massive Attack, Underworld, Miles Davis, Chet Baker, Sting, Prince, Eminem (early work) Jonny L, Public Enemy, George Brassens, Yann Tiersen, dEUS, Dead can Dance etc etc.

Some of my favourite writers off the top of my head: W. Somerset Maugham, Irvine Welsh, John Irving, Tom Robbins, Stephen King, Brett Easton Ellis, Amélie Nothomb, Anna Gavalda, Alexandre Jardin, Herman Brusselmans, Kees van Kooten, Harry Mulish...

A few of my favorite movies are: Im Juli, Pi, Requiem for a dream, La haine, Le Souffle au Cœur, Délicatessen, Angel A, Intouchables, Alien, Paranormal Activity, Hemel, Cidade de Deus...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

About ten years ago, I busked my way through three countries continuously for 5 months on a mountainbike. Had a trailer (with a tent, sleepingbag, my violin, a digital multitracker and some camping gear) attached to the bike and my guitar slung on my back. This way I cycled from Groningen (North of Holland) to Montpellier (south of France) playing in most of the cities I passed through and fishing when there were no cities to play in.

Teach, Learn, Share

I guess I could teach some and I'm always willing to learn some more... Besides what's mentioned above I have been working wood in various ways since I was eight years old. I was trained in guitar making and antique(s) repair in my twenties and started sculpting around that time. I'm learning and wanting to learn a lot more, about sailing and navigation, a big and actual adventure for little old me ^_^

What I Can Share with Hosts

My cooking and the stories of a travelling troubadour. Stories of life and love as a king and a pauper. Stories about the crazy calling of the arts and selling one's soul to the devil to be able to play the blues. Stories about the singing of the Loreley, Orpheus's loss or the big hearts of the Knights of the Round Table. The stories I was told as a kid and those I've experienced still being that kid, narrated in the groove of the Delta Blues over a good single malt scotch.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France, Netherlands, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see CAMLETROUBADOUR’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups