Michael Campbell's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Grad Student, Spanish Teacher
  • MA Latin American Literature, BA Spanish/English
  • From Akron, OH, USA
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

I graduated from The Ohio State University in May 2014 with a major in Spanish and English. I spent a year afterward teaching middle school English before going back to OSU for an MA in Latin American Literature, with future plans to teach high school Spanish. I've traveled and lived lots of different places both in the US and outside of it, the most recent being Mexico City. I have had great luck in building relationships with the people I meet while traveling, and I'm always looking to build more as I make my way through the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have mainly stayed with families during my travels abroad and have found that living with locals is truly the best way to get to know a new place, as well as the people in it. I hope that Couchsurfing will open up more of those opportunities.


I try to find all of these things in new places by just walking around, talking to whoever I meet.

  • literature
  • dancing
  • beer
  • coffee
  • running
  • music
  • film
  • local food
  • foreign languages
  • walking around

Music, Movies, and Books

I have a soft spot for alternative music from the 80s and 90s--bands like The Smiths, Joy Division, My Bloody Valentine and Modest Mouse. My favorite book in English is "As I Lay Dying" by Faulkner, and in Spanish is "El Aleph" by Jorge Luis Borges. I'm a big fan of the earlier films of Iñarritú, like Amores Perros and Babel, and I also love horror movies of any stripe.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I interviewed and ended up making friends with a bunch of taco truck owners in Columbus, OH as part of an undergrad research project. We got super close even though my Spanish was really rough at the time, which felt pretty amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Spanish, how to write a solid paragraph

Learn: new dance moves, local slang

Share: stories about weirdo middle-schoolers and Chilean/Mexican cultural quirks

What I Can Share with Hosts

Everything above, plus some good coffee and beer!

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, Finland, France, Italy, Mexico, Norway, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!