Jesse Ory

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Student, First Aid Instructor, Lifeguard,
  • Undergraduate Degree at UBC
  • From Victoria, BC
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To learn about myself and discover what I'm passionate about by traveling the world and meeting new people!


There's an old TV show that used to run in the 70s of this one man who would canoe out to a secluded area of the woods with a camera and build himself a cabin and all of the necessary amenities needed to survive.

One day, I want to be able to do something like that. There's nothing better than going camping and making your own food, being self-reliable, and sharing stories and talking with fellow travelers along the way.

I've been boxed in at university to a standard timetable and very safe habits. By starting couchsurfing, I want to completely change that while I can and do things without commitment, without planning, and take advantage of whatever stray advice I pick up from other travelers.


There are certain things I want to do quite passionately, but the path to them is one I want to be determined by my experiences and what is happening on any given day. Thus, traveling!

Plus, I think every time you step out of your comfort zone, you are rewarded with a beautiful new experience. Maybe a bit scared, but it has always been worth it for me!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Just starting! So I participate with lots of enthusiasm but a very small resume.


Water polo, guitar (classical and acoustic), painting (although I'm not very good) and challenging myself with new adventures. I also like taking care of cacti, playing with cats, cliff jumping, swimming in water that sucks the air out of your lungs, talking, listening to people's stories, feeling ingenious, biking down hills, and wrapping presents in duct tape so it takes my sister an hour to get to it.

Music, Movies, and Books

Life of Pi, Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, Carl Sagan (currently), A Fine Balance, and looking for more books, more books, more books, all the time. Open to travel trading!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I saw a man with a big white beard riding a red beach cruiser bike holding the leash of his two dogs, who were pulling him on his bike.

The residents of that town called him the summer santa, and he was the manager of the campground I was staying at at the time.

Simply amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a first aid instructor, so I can teach you the ninja-like skills of applying gauze. We can also make forts of gauze around your eyes for wicked halloween costumes.

I swim well, and can juggle, play guitar (classical), and can rub my belly and pat my head at the same time.

Countries I’ve Visited


Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile. It’s free!