Can Ocal's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Can’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • DJ
  • BTEC Childrens Learning and Development
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a 23 year old slightly quirky but generally normal person. My dads Turkish and my Mums English. I was born in the UK, moved to Turkey when I was 8, then moved back to Manchester when I was 18. I'm now living in Moscow.

I'm clean and tidy in other peoples houses but if it's on short notice expect my flat to be untidy! I like to party but would never do it if it means getting in the way of someones sleep! I love listening to music more than anything else, and will hopefully have something to share with you no matter what you listen to, except indie. I can't understand indie.

I'm outdoorsy, so if I'm staying at yours, I most likely won't be staying in very much! I'm also fine with people needing to go to work and get home and sleep. I've got my laptop, kindle and headphones to entertain myself!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been living in Manchester for the past 4 years, but am now in plans to leave and travel for as long as possible! I've generally worked in the tourism industry, and last summer I was an Activity Manager at a summer school. So I have met a lot of people from a lot of different cultures and I really enjoy gaining new perspectives.

Interests

I enjoy listening to music in most of my free time. I recently got an electric piano and have started learning. I also like to skateboard and look forward to snowboarding in Moscow. Other than that I like watching documentaries and occasionally a tv show of some sort.

Music, Movies, and Books

I love a lot of genres of music. Some of my favourite genres are Techno, Jungle, Hiphop, Classical, Funk, Industrial, Breakbeat, Ambient and Folk. But the list is pretty endless.

My favourite film of all time is 'Dead Mans Shoes' which is a brilliant production starring Paddy Constantine and directed by Shane Meadows (the guy who did 'This Is England'). A close second would have to be the original 'Old Boy' film! I also like 'Pi' and 'Drive'.

My favourite book is pretty cliche, but 'Catcher in The Rye'. 'Notes From the Underground' is a close second! At the moment I'm reading 'Jazz' by Tony Morrison.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was 15 I got in trouble because I was seeing a girl, and her parents found out I was smoking weed (a big deal in Turkey). So I set off from my home town (Kusadasi) with 20 lira and hitchhiked around Turkey, making all the way to Istanbul and back over two months. It's a bit of a shame that I'm telling you about something I did when I was 15, and I promise I've done other cool stuff, but that was definitely the most liberating.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you loads of music, but I'm mostly looking forward to learning more from you and your city!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'll make you some grub (or buy, if you'd prefer!). I'm pretty friendly and seem to always make friends quite easily. I'll be moving to the USA after July, so will have a place for people to kip when I get there :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cambodia, England, Germany, Italy, Laos, Portugal, Russian Federation, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Can’s full profile. It’s free!