Can Özçöllü's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Can’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Turkish; learning Italian
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • No occupation listed
  • Bachelor of literature
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey everyone! I'm Can, which is pronounced way different than what you probably think. But I can explain that when we meet in person. I'm from the beautiful Aegean Coast of Turkey. I've lived in a couple of different places so far; south of France for a year, and then in Sweden for a year too. And for the past six months as of July 2018, home has been Albury, Australia. Other than that I've travelled some, though it's nothing compared to a real traveller. But I'm getting there! When I travel, I like going slowly, becoming a temporary local in each place I go, rather than seeing fifteen cities in one week and not really getting to know the people that live within. Because it's the people that tell their stories about the land they live and love on, and I travel to hear those.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Well I guess I'm a social whore who loves meeting new people and that's the core of it. Plus, it's things like the couchsurfing community that makes me hopeful about the future of our world, and I love taking my small part in it. Helping out strangers in need, teaching and learning about cultures, making friends across the world, what could be better?

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite songs are the kind that makes you go mhhh
My favorite films are the kind that makes you go hnnng
My favorite reads are the kind that makes you go whhh

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I knitted a scarf once. There was this other time when I went for a swim in the Arctic Ocean up in the Finnish Lapland, before getting a reindeer-sleigh tour in the boreal woodland led by members of the native people of Finland, the Sámi, while watching the most beautiful night sky my eyes were ever blessed to lie upon, which was right before the Aurora Borealis slowly appeared to start their journey across and I couldn't help but burst into tears in the face of so much beauty, but knitting a scarf still definitely gets the cake.

Teach, Learn, Share

Here's something I love sharing; http://htwins.net/scale2/ Blows. My. Mind. Every time.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I will share all that is mine to share. Some of my favourites; a good meal, too many beers, the stories we love to tell and the stories we find hard to tell, good times, my icecream sometimes.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Finland, Italy, Lithuania

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, Sweden, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Can’s full profile. It’s free!