Logo orange

Howard Wolff

Chico, California, United States

Wants to Meet Up

Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Howard's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Nepali
  • 67, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Retired: Professor of Computer Scien...
  • PHD in Public Policy/Administration ...
  • From Chico, California, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To improve the condition of the world and to live to the fullest

ABOUT ME

I have been a traveler all my life; it is my main addiction. I most enjoy visiting places and getting involved with the local people, culture and activities.

I like to be open to new experiences and I like to find fun activates wherever I am. My most exciting trips are the ones I plan least.

Cindy Wolff, my wife, also enjoys traveling with me when she can get away. She and my daughter, Mariya, are travel companions and are interested in Europe. Don't be surprised if my wife contacts you using our log in.

I once traveled for over 3 years and started by hitch hiking from California; one year later I was in Nepal and lived there for two years. I used my skills from my doctorate in Public Administration to get a job through the Peace Corps teaching University and evaluating the Fisheries for the National Planning commission.

Now I take shorter trip, less than a month, and look for new places that I have not been or have not visited recently.

I believe one travels through time as well as place. I enjoy transcending age barriers when I travel. I find that the age of the people I meet or my travel companions are transparent.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe we all make our own journey both through life and through the world. This is based on my belief that we have freewill and are responsible for our own acts.

Although, I am not a religious person I believe in karma; we get back what we put out. Thus we choose how we want to interact with the world. In my travels I have valued countries that take care of their people. I like to see the basic needs of folks being assisted by the country by helping people with food, health and housing.

I like to see people support each however and work together to make the world a better place both in peace and sustainable. In short the more we work together; the better the world will be.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have had many experiences with the local people when I have traveled and found it to be one of the most rewarding elements in my journeys.

Learning about the places I visit from the people that live there and sharing experiences with them has always made my travels very special and rewarding. Also, explaining about my home and my country has been of great value to improving the understanding that we all share a lot in common.

I believe that CS is a means to achieving these ends. When I have visited people in their homes, I have always tried to share my experiences in traveling, philosophy and politics to help us understand our world better and to improve the way we get along hoping to achieve more peace in the world.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Probably the greatest couch surfing experience I had was when I hitchhike from California to Nepal in 1974 . I was invited into many people's homes in the US, Europe, North Africa and Asia. I was amazed at the hospitality I received from the poorest to the wealth people I met. They all trusted me, feed me well and we spent great amounts of time discussing world politics and many aspect of our lives.

My most recent couch surfing experience was in Australia in Jan 2009 and in Coffs Harbour. My son and I met a couple when we were asking direction to a Restaurant. After we ate we saw them again and they invited us to their home for the evening. It was a new experience for my son and one of my favorite parts of that trip.

Interests

I enjoy outside activities. My favorite travel sports is road and mountain biking, Scuba diving ( I have been certified for about five years and completed over 200 dives). I like back country downhill telemark skiing and exploring remote areas. I enjoy hiking and back packing.

Politics and philosophy interest me. I enjoy reading. I like intellectual discussion relating world issues. I enjoy art Museums and historical attractions. Also, I like exploring new places. And of course people and organizations interest me.

When I was in High School I learned electronics, I like setting up super sound and video systems. I am good at fixing techy things as well as stuff around the house

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Travel: 1n 1973 I left California hitchhiking with a backpack and came back 3 years later after seeing the world.

Life: Having Children and working on being a parent

Living: Living in Nepal, Working in the Canadian communes, Being retired and volunteering + traveling

Outdoors: Trekking for months in Nepal and learning the language and culture.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to share my impressions of the places I have been and how they integrate into my world view. Also, I have acquired many skills that I am willing to share with the people I stay with. I am good at fixing things, I have computer skills, research skills, grant writing skills, administrative practices and other professional training that I am happy to share. Also, I am always happy to learn from others.

Countries I've Visited

Afghanistan, Algeria, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Cambodia, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Islamic Republic of, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea, Republic of, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Peru, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Germany, Nepal, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Howard's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile