Ricardo and Alysha Cosentino's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ricardo and Alysha’s full profile.

Overview

  • 74 references 61 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian, Spanish
  • 39, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • Accounting/Consulting
  • Bachelor of Commerce 2005 - Queen's University, Canada
  • From Caledon, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To mix up the monotony of life

ABOUT ME

I (Ricardo) was born and raised just north of Toronto, ON. I live in Calgary, AB and enjoy the sunshine and the mountains. I'm a very easy-going guy who likes to listen to music, play sports and drink the occasional alcoholic beverage.

My wife, Alysha, is my soulmate travel partner.

Alysha was born in a small town in Northern Saskatchewan, Canada. She moved to Calgary in 2002 to study and is now a Registered Nurse. She is also one hell of a cook.

In 2010 we quit our jobs, sold all our possessions and embarked on a 14 month round-the-world trip. We visited New Zealand, Australia, SE Asia, the Middle East, and South America. We had so many amazing couchsurfing experiences and are looking forward to giving back.

We are now back in Calgary, we have 2 beautiful boys and are looking forward to hosting again. Alysha works part-time now that we have children and I have a fairly flexible work schedule.

PHILOSOPHY

Such a big, beautiful world out there...why not see and experience as much as possible?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We both are very outgoing and love to meet new people, so we thought this would be a good idea.

We've lived in Calgary for several years now and know the city and the mountains fairly well.

Come winter, if you're flying into Calgary and then going to Banff, Lake Louise, etc. I could be convinced to take the day off and go snowboarding. It would be a cheap way for you to get to the mountains

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Went to Europe in June/July of 2009 and couchsurfed almost the entire time. It was absolutely amazing. Everyone was so nice to us, and we made some really good friends.

We started hosting in May 2009 and have hosted loads of people!

Interests

Hobbies include playing sports (basketball, volleyball mostly), snowboarding, music (listening - rock; playing - guitar) and the occassional hike or mountain bike ride. We also keep bees in our backyard!

  • cooking
  • drinking
  • flying
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • basketball
  • volleyball
  • nursing
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - Sam Roberts Band, Tragically Hip, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Jack Johnson...a lot more

Movies - Good Will Hunting, Amadeus, Shawshank Redemption, The Royal Tennenbaums

Books - Tuesday's with Morrie, Into Thin Air

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The home birth of our son, Gustavo :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

I speak english, play guitar and saxophone and know a lot about the fundamentals of taxation...haha. I'm a consultant, so I deal with problem solving a lot. I'm also a good listener and conversationalist.
In the summer if your interested in learning about beekeeping we'd be happy to show our couchsurfers all about honey and beehives!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Haiti, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Palestine, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ricardo and Alysha’s full profile.