Nestor Espinoza's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nestor’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Afrikaans, French
  • 49, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • I'm a mechanical engineer, with a bit of a commercial twi...
  • First an engineering degree in Chile and then and MBA in ...
  • From Santiago, Chile
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I traveled the world looking for a place to settle down, and after visiting and living in many places I chose South Africa. I moved here officially in 2015, found a good job and got married in 2017, I think I'll be here for a while.

My travelling these days is mostly road trips in South Africa and business trips for work, but there are plans for some trips to exotic destinations (Iran, Reunion). Happy to share stories and help fellow travelers.

I am a mechanical engineer and work for an engineering consulting firm in Johannesburg. Other than work, my main activity is running, with some cycling in between.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Hosted a couple of surfers in Bahrain, which was surprising as I didn't expect anyone to visit that place. then met a few surfers in Peshawar and Kabul for coffee, which was great to learn about their culture. Met many interesting people through couch surfing while travelling on my motorbike, now I guess is time to be on the other side and host travelers passing by Johannesburg.

Interests

Outdoor sports, hiking, climbing, caving, cycling, running, diving, etc.

Saxophone, I have a spare tenor in case my guests want to play a duet.

  • culture
  • beer
  • coffee
  • running
  • working out
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • spelunking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • rock climbing

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite band is Dire Straits, but my collection ranges from cheesy Elton John to Marilyn Manson.

In books I usually read biographies, historical fiction, and science/technical books. Every now and then I read a novel, Ian Fleming or Stephen King. Oh, and anything from the messiah of mountaineering, Reinhold Messner.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Camping in Botswana surrounded by lions and hippos was one of the best experiences of my life, scary and at the same time almost magical

Riding my bike at speed through a straight road in the Sahara, almost hallucinogenic!

Teach, Learn, Share

Right now I could probably only teach Spanish and English, but soon my sax playing technique will be good enough to teach, I hope

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bahrain, Chile, South Africa, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Nestor’s full profile.

My Groups