Logo orange

Cara Applestein

Olympia, WA, United States

Wants to Meet Up

100% response rate · Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cara's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 16 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Portuguese, Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Prairie Science Technician
  • Dickinson College (undergrad), Unive...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Have the smallest footprint possible.

ABOUT ME WE CANNOT CURRENTLY HOST YOU! We are about to move at the end of the month and will be living with someone who runs a business out of her house. It isn't our house and we can't host. That said, I would still love to meet up if you're around and go out for drinks, dinner, on a hike, or around town.

My fiance, Jason, and I are transplants to the West Coast, originally hailing from Maryland (DC metro area). We have been here for a little over a year and are not totally sure what life has in store for us but would like to stay. I work for a non-profit organization with a focus on prairie restoration. Jason primarily does summertime bat surveys in the midwest and does a variety of different things here (woodworking, salmon volunteering, recently caving...)

I am vegan and a bit of an overachieving cook. I recently published my first ebook cookbook, Seitan's Kitchen (http://www.amazon.com/Seitans-Kitchen-Devilishly-Vegan-Recipes-ebook/dp/B00ONLIV6M). I love all things fermented and regularly made my own soy/coconut yogurt, cashew cheese, sauerkraut, sourdough bread, kombucha, and kimchi. I have a hard time staying still. Relaxing is something I'm still working on....

PHILOSOPHY

Do the least harm you possible can. My goal in life is to make a difference in other people's lives.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've surfed a lot and with many, many amazing people. I've hosted a few people at our place. I've organized a few couchsurfing meetups in Olympia and really hope to do more.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfed in Spain, Norway, and the US. Many wonderful couchsurfing hosts, particularly in Norway where I truly met some of the kindest people. I met my best friends in Olympia via couchsurfing!

Interests

Yoga, rock climbing, biking, kickboxing, swimming, running, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, guitar, piano, music, salsa dancing, swing dancing, hiking, trees, cooking, forest ecology, animal rights, environmental activism, local foods, craft beer, good literature, social activism, gardening

I have a vegan cooking blog that I updated rather intermittently: http://seitanskitchen.blogspot.com/2013/11/apple-cinnamon-raisin-scones.html

Music, Movies & Books

The Poisonwood Bible, Sanctus, The Tenderness of the Wolves, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, The Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns, Sophie's Choice, His Dark Materials, Saving Fish From Drowning, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Delta Rae, Grace Potter and the Nocturals, Halestorm, Maroon 5, Juanes, Jason Mraz, KT Tunstall, Sara Barellis, Nightwish, Within Temptation, Kamelot, Epica, Ingrid Michaelson, After Forever, Delain, Carlos Baute

The Princess Bride, Back to the Future, Forest Gump, Big Fish, Lord of the Rings, Pirates of the Carribean, The Duchess, Up, How to Train Your Dragon, Tristan and Isolde

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Skiing in Rondane, Norway. Norwegians pretty much grow up on skis so I was rather woefully unprepared to keep up when I went on a ski tour with the Norwegian equivalent of the American Sierra Club. Somehow, I made it through seven days of extremely slippery side slopes with just a pair of dinky groomed trail rental skis.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know how to belay climb, and tie all the knots. I can do some teaching of Spanish/English. I am a great vegan cook and would love to cook for just about anyone. I can play piano and guitar.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I can cook a meal for you or with you. I love sharing local craft brews with you.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Norway, Spain

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Cara's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile