Carl Densem's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carl’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Banking
  • Finance (Oklahoma State University)
  • From Bulawayo, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi all, I am an aspiring traveler and writer who is on here to host fascinating folks and be hosted in the future by sociable hosts. I believe the best part of traveling is the people we meet, this has been true for me whether it's on my way to golf tournaments on a 'chicken' bus in Zimbabwe (my home) or road tripping around British Columbia (my new home).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I learned about CouchSurfing soon after moving to Vancouver in 2015 and soon discovered an entire community willing to share their homes and allow travelers a free and far better alternative to hotel-hopping or camping out. I wish to travel throughout Europe, Southeast Asia, South America and Australasia in the near future and would like to get to know people in all of these places without rushing through and missing out on the most important part of travel: meeting new and fascinating people along the way.

Interests

Most of my favorite activities take place outside. I love to hike in a group or alone, especially North of Vancouver where trails dot the multiple mountains and you can find pools to dive into if you are so daring (I haven't yet, who's up for it?).
I love to cycle too although it is more for the speed than sightseeing. Stanley Park, just 5 minutes from downtown Vancouver, offers great roads for fast cycling since there are few cars and buses which go there.
Indoor swimming is also a favorite pastime of mine, although there is plenty of opportunity to swim in open waters around Kits beach and English Bay. Since I want to take part in triathlons by next year, I want to do more of the outdoor variety.
I am a very capable sportsman especially in cricket, golf, tennis and always looking to add to my repertoire.
I also enjoy video games (first-person shooters like Battlefield are my favorite), and reading about spirituality, history or biographies of interesting people.

  • writing
  • dining
  • fitness
  • politics
  • video games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cars
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • cricket
  • tennis
  • track and field
  • swimming
  • golf
  • teaching
  • history
  • religion
  • sightseeing
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I am not up to date when it comes to music, I love the greats: Queen, Bob Marley, Beatles. The new Batman trilogy is my favorite movie/s with Dark Knight being the greatest in my opinion. Netflix is awesome too: House of Cards, Orange is the new Black. Reading anything by Sam Harris is a mind-trip and my all-time favorite inspirational story is "Power of One" by Bryce Courtenay.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've cycled 500 miles across the state of Iowa in the USA as part of a tour called RAGBRAI. The same year I did it, Lance Armstrong was making his PR comeback and chose this very event to smile and kiss babies, etc. He overtook me like a blur every morning, man that guy's fast! Too fast, apparently, for him to hear me shouting "Lance, you su..."

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some English basics since I used to be a tutor and never let language get in the way of meeting someone. I know quite a bit about fitness, nutrition and a healthy lifestyle if you have any questions.
I am looking to learn new dishes in the kitchen, I am very limited in my understanding of food except when it comes to eating!
I love to walk and explore new and off the beaten track places. We can get lost in nearby Stanley Park and find our way back before dark.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hopefully good conversation. I love to talk about everything they say it is rude to talk about with polite company: religion, politics. I am also a valuable devil's advocate so if you ever want someone to play the 'other side' in a debate, I am game.

Countries I’ve Visited

India, South Africa, United States, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States, Zimbabwe

Join Couchsurfing to see Carl’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups