Carla Acevedo's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carla’s full profile.

Overview

  • 40 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning German, Italian
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Field Engineer
  • B. S Mechatronics Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travel around the world and enjoy life

ABOUT ME

I am from Mexico and I love to travel especially as backpacker :D I work in the oilfield as an engineer, I spent more than 2 years working in different deserts of Oman, and after that I moved to Colombia where I did the same job for 1 more year. I moved to Germany in summer 2012 but after 6 months of working in Central Europe, I took another job in Congo and continued the adventure. I had time of my life while I was in between Germany and Congo for around 2 years.

Later they laid me off the job and I used the time to backpack all Central America and a little bit of SE Asia. Then I found a job on board a cruise line, I was selling tours while sailing the Mediterranean for some months.

After that I decided to follow another passion and I became a Dive Master. I worked as a Dive Master for some months in the Mexican Caribbean and I loved that experience so much, maybe at some point I will become an instructor, but not yet.

After that in 2017 I decided to go back to the ship life and I joined another cruise ship, I was working on board at the Front Office (hardest job ever) but I still enjoyed a lot!!

After a while on board cruise ships I took come scuba diving jobs again in the Mexican Caribbean! I just love this area!

Summer 2020 I moved to the Netherlands to star a job back to the field operations!!! What I like about this job is that I have the chance to meet people from all around the world and I have the opportunity to travel either for days off or for job related stuff. The disadvantage is that I am not always available to host couch surfers or take them around because I am usually in fields far away from the civilization and the fun, in addition it is usually hard to know when I gonna be in town and for how long (depends on the operations).

I like to meet people from different cultures and learn from them as much as I can. I am crazy and adventurous, I enjoy a lot when I try new things or when I go to places where I have not been before. I like to party a lot and drink (especially beer) :D

PHILOSOPHY

"if you can imagine it you can do it if you can dream it you can become it"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Unfortunately my job is complicated, I have no schedule which makes it very hard to host couch surfers because usually I can’t say if I will be available!!! However if the circumstances allow it I will love to host as much as I can, or at least go and grab drinks, go around in the city and make new friends :D

My job doesn’t let me plan my own trips in advance, couch surfing has saved my life several times with last minute couch request or when I post in the groups saying I am there without a plan. Incredible people have answered :D

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Awesome!! My first experience was in Durban, South Africa, my sister arranged to meet a couch surfer at the beach and we had an incredible time during our stay. After that in Pretoria another couch surfer showed us around and we went out for drinks :D

While I was living in Oman I met some other guys who moved into the country and shared stories. Then I had the chance to meet another couch surfer in Thailand and after that in a totally improvised trip to Japan.

After that I moved to Bogota, Colombia, when I traveled to Cartagena I had more awesome couch surfing experiences. Some CS hosted me in India, all incredible people.

I improvised a trip to Poland for the EURO12 and I managed to find hosts in all of the cities!! that made my trip very special and a lot of fun. I improvised a trip again, last minute decision to go to Pamplona to see the bulls running and one more time CS saved my life. while in Gran Canaria I organized my birthday party through the Gran Canaria CS group and it was fantastic!! A birthday to remember :D

When I moved to Hannover I was homeless (hard to find a room) and again a CS saved my life, I met a lot of incredible people in the meetings of this city. I used to live in Stuttgart and during that time I made very good friends in the CS meetings :D Everytime I get the chance I go to the Oktobefest, again a perfect place to meet more CSrs and make new friends!

I think my most recent experience was in Thailand, I met a group of crazy people through the Chiang Mai group and we celebrate Songkran for few days :D

Thanks a lot to everybody!!!!

Interests

Travel, Party, Languages

  • animals
  • music festivals
  • oktoberfest
  • beer
  • scuba diving
  • soccer
  • languages
  • travel
  • party
  • cruises

Music, Movies, and Books

TV Shows:
Friends, How i met your mother, Prisson break, Two and a half men.
Music:
Aerosmith, Bon Jovi, Guns and Roses, Metallica... and whatever is the hit of the moment.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Too many!!
Underwater life, active volcanoes, underground rivers, incredible rainforest, sunset and sunrise in the middle of the sea and in the middle of the desert., incredible architecture, ancient ruins, temples, pyramids, rode an ostrich, camel, elephant, jumped from a plane, jumped from a bridge, jumped from a tower. And everyday I am pleasant to see and enjoy the miracle of life!!

Teach, Learn, Share

The most incredible about the CS project is that there is always something that you can learn from the other persons, how they think, how they live, how they manage to travel or how the can host many people, traditions, culture, even language or cooking :D
The university of life!

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Aruba, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Russian Federation, San Marino, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Congo, Germany, Mexico, Oman, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Carla’s full profile.

My Groups