Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carlos’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Japanese, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Work, work, more work and some play!
  • Bachelors degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I've been on the receiving end of amazing hosts through the years. Until recently, I've not got a place where I can host; now, it's time to give back. Since I can't travel for a little while, I'd like to meet/host travellers so I can live vicariously through your experiences.

ABOUT ME

29 year old living in Vancouver. Love meeting new people and exploring new places.

Coffee, craft beer and wine connoisseur here - or at least trying to be. Always got a few wine bottles in stock.

Also like to jog and hike and going around town.

PHILOSOPHY

Carpe diem!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'd like to host some people passing through this great city. Failing that, I'd be a willing tour guide around the city and potentially the hills and mountains around the region. I also enjoy hiking and camping and got gear.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first exposure to the couch surfing project was through an American friend in Japan who was hosting a German couch surfer. Have also been hosted in Lyon, Avignon in France and San Sebastian, Spain, Salzburg, Austrai, Portland, Oregon.

Interests

Big tennis fan. Still can't get over Roger Federer's artistry. I also like reading, travelling, playing sports, learning new languages, meeting new people and laughing. Although I'm not a good dancer or singer, I like to do them anyway. From my year teaching English in Japan, I've also been known to belt out a tune at the karaoke box.

All that said, I simply love travelling.

  • cats
  • dogs
  • dancing
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • reading
  • traveling
  • karaoke
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sports
  • boxing
  • tennis
  • languages
  • tourism
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Don't see too many movies but love Amelie and Lost in Translation and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. I also love foreign films, which is an extension of my love for travel.

Also enjoy listening to bands like Colplay, the Killers and Mumford and Sons.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I hitch hiked in Morocco for about 2 weeks through the mountain passes. I didn't have much control over how the days would go, but I just opened myself up to the experience and trusted that everything would turn out well. Slept in huts, in a restaurant, outdoors and woke up to cats and dogs besides me. Even had tea with a Berber family from the mountain, which was by far one of my most memorable experiences. What struck me the most is just how generous people were even when they didn't have much. It was the hardest trip in terms of all the inconveniences yet I learned so much and by far, my favourite of all my past trips.

Teach, Learn, Share

Did you know that there are days in Vancouver during the spring, when you can ski, cycle and sail all in the same day!?!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Morocco, Netherlands, Philippines, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Japan

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Carlos’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups