Carly Sandell's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carly’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Cree, Turkish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Teacher
  • Bachelor of Science & Bachelor of Education
  • From Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I suppose I am many different things. An eternal optimist. A lover of learning and teaching. A gullible, giggling goofball. A curious and critical mind. A wannabe rockstar. A wanderer trying to find my way.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I joined Couch Surfing a few years ago when I moved to Turkey to teach English. I had so many positive experiences and met some amazing people. I haven't been active on CS lately, but I am currently taking some time off from my teaching career to do a bit of traveling - primarily on my bike.

When I am not on the road, I live in Northern Quebec, in the beautiful Cree community of Mistissini, where I continue to teach, but mostly spend my time learning. Learning about a remarkable language, culture, and history. I feel so fortunate to be able to live and adventure in Eeyou Istchee (James Bay Cree Territory) and I would be happy to show any visitors around!

Interests

- Travelling of course!
- Cycling
- Snowboarding
- Hiking
- Swimming
- Indigenous Education
- Reading
- Making music - singing and playing ukulele
- Learning languages

  • singing
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • hiking
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • languages
  • cycling tours

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can (sometimes!) share a home, a warm shower, decent cooking, lots of laughs, and mostly-functional wifi. Although Mistissini, is far away from most travelers' routes, it is definitely worth the drive. I would be happy to take guests hiking, snowshoeing, skiing, or camping.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Peru, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Carly’s full profile.