Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katatafish’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 11 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hungarian, Spanish; learning French, Indonesian
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Science Journalist-Zoologist/Passionate Bookshop Vendor, ...
  • I will be never done with this...
  • From Dunaföldvár, Tolna County, Hungary
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Putting words together, putting voices together, putting films together - Telling stories around the globe


I have been living in London since Fall 2015 to turn myself into a science journalist. Originally, I am a zoologist/zookeeper, but I realised I am not a "scientist" material as I am too interested in everything and can't get committed only to one area. Right now it seems being a science journalist is what I was always meant to be - a fusion of my passion for science, animals, storytelling, people, languages and travelling. Otherwise I am an adventurer hitchhiking around the world and living on 60c bean cans.


I have only one life so I want to make the best out of it. I believe it is important to listen to what people are saying - Have your eyes and ears open all the time. Drink good coffee, and always eat everything because you never know what tomorrow brings.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I regularly hosted people when I had my own flat. Otherwise I show the town to travellers and organise couchsurfing events.


I had hosted some pretty incredible people from far-away kingdoms of the world... Wont forget neither of them!


Usually, I try to notice every little good and nice thing in my life. Like an old building or some interesting street art. I love street performers, I respect them, mainly Jugglers are my favourite. Also I love books and music. Without books and music mankind wouldnt able to exist.

  • arts
  • books
  • street art
  • traveling
  • music

Music, Movies, and Books

I think I can say that of myself that without music and books life would be more or less meaningless (well for me for sure). Just to begin with I love to play music (piano and flute) so of course literally I cannot really spend a day without listening to music. Some of my favourites: John Butler Trio, Yann Tiersen, Buena Vista Social Club, Devenra Banhart, Jeff Buckley, The Cat Empire, Noah and the Whales, Nirvana, Shine Delphi, Skogen, Swing music, Nils Frahm etc. Books...this is even more difficult: I love those kind of books which concentrate more the caracters personality and the way how they react to different kind of happenings, and also I really like the way how South American writes write, the style of Magical Realism. My forever favourite writers are: John Steinbeck and Gabriel García Marquez, but I love these guys as well: Jorge Amado, Oscar Wilde, József Attila, H.G. Wells, J.R. Tolkien, Julian Barnes, Zafón, Jacques Prévert, George Orwell, Anthony Burgess etc. Movies... please spare me, just a few: Amelie (my favourite), Little Miss Sunshine, Good Bye Lenin, Adam's Apple, Micmacs, Monthy Piton's films etc...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Well I guess one of the most amazing in my life was when I was voluntaring in Andalucia in the Iberian Lynx Ex-situ Program. When one of the little lynxes had an eye problam after the surgery we had to give him eyes drops. I often gave him the drops and when he finally got well and was able to see well again I felt just this little thing that I have done to this little creature and being able to see that he can live now normally gave me the feeling that these are the moments when I am really alive and be myself.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would like to share all my stories, experience and knowledge from my travelling and from my life as well. I am a pretty good cook so you can expect some Hungarian food coming, can teach you how to juggle a little bit or how to play the flute.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Mongolia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Hungary, Ireland, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Katatafish’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups