Carol Reed's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carol’s full profile.


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Arabic (Morocco), German, Italian, Portuguese
  • 66, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Singer/Musician, retired French teacher
  • Middlebury College, BA in French; Castleton University, M...
  • From Leicester, VT, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I lived near Lausanne, Switzerland when I was 10 - 11 years old, giving me a lifelong love of adventures and exploration. I taught French for 27 years, with Spanish in the last year before retiring. I love learning languages. Retired in 2018, I increased my professional musicianship, singing in 3 + languages, especially trad French music, old blues, folk, and old jazz, playing guitar and mandolin, with plenty of other instruments available in my home for visitors. I danced ballet for 36 years, and started tango in 2005. I also love traditional Québecois and French dances, and travel to festivals whenever possible. My husband of 32 years prefers staying home with the dog, but loves cooking (professionally for 10 years) and theater, often acting in several overlapping community theater plays at a time. He gave me a love of acting as well. We raised our four children (2 each) together, and now enjoy time with our 3 grandsons.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to travel the world (so far including the USA, Canada, Europe, and long ago, North Africa) and immerse myself in the cultures I experience. By meeting people as I go, I have way more involvement than staying in a hotel. Friends who have couch-surfed have told me wonderful things! I'm hoping to share our space (with 4 extra bedrooms!) with new friends, as well as to form new friendships in traveling around.


  • singing
  • theater
  • music festivals
  • crafts
  • music
  • guitar
  • swimming
  • genealogy
  • travel
  • art
  • dance
  • friendship
  • sewing
  • family
  • language learning
  • weaving
  • tango argentino
  • landscaping
  • cuisine du monde
  • downhill skiing
  • home construction
  • flower gardening

Music, Movies, and Books

Traditional Québecois music, as well as French, Cajun, Creole. Old blues & jazz, Folk music and some pop. Films: Mostly Martha, Les enfants du paradis, La belle et la bête, Casablanca, old Cary Grant movies, comedies, Game of Thrones, a wide variety! Books: All the Light We Cannot See, Wind in the Willows, all the Hobbit and Harry Potter books, Sense and Sensibility, Charles Dickens...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was a street musician in my early twenties, performing in Paris, Arles, the east and south of Spain, Morocco, Switzerland, and returning to the USA, in New York, Washington DC, Baltimore, and Philadelphia.

Teach, Learn, Share

As a French teacher, it was easy to involve music, dance, art, games, and storytelling to engage students and give them a deeper experience of the language. It's exciting to learn languages, and I can get by in English, French, Spanish, some German, a bit of Italian and Arabic, and I am currently learning Portuguese.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Music, cuisine, stories, dancing, adventures. (I clean up well after myself!)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Carol’s full profile.