Carolina Lopes's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 57% response rate
  • Last login 30 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carolina’s full profile.


  • 1 reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Italian
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • Latin-American Studies & economics Student
  • Université Sorbonne nouvelle - Paris 3
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please read my entire profile before contacting me! :)

My parents are coming to visit me so I must reserve nights for them.

I'm Carol, a Brazilian girl from Rio de Janeiro in love with the world (although I miss the beach where I was born and lived all my childhood and adolescence). I feel an immense passion to travel, hit the road, fulfill dreams that I didn't even know existed, connect with people who come from completely different universes than mine (as long as they respect human rights and are kind). I am a Scorpio with Capricorn ascendant, I am emotional but at the same time very rational, and I am passionate about volunteering and social initiatives.

Here is a thread from my life (in brief, because the rest you will know when we talk!):

I spent two months in Montreal, Canada, where my brother lives as a migrant and PhD student. At this time, I had started to learn French but already mastered English. I had started a degree in International Relations in Brazil and was already thirsty to discover the planet! I also got to know Argentina, a country that my family lived for some time before I was born.

After working as a freelancer in translations and animating children's parties, as well as an internship in international business, I was approved for a 6-month exchange program in Paris at the Sorbonne. IT WAS THE BEGINNING OF AN INTERNATIONAL JOURNEY! I fell in love with life in Paris and also with all the friends I made, which made this trip last for a year. In the meantime, I worked as an ice cream maker at Amorino in front of Notre Dame and broke my front tooth trying to reach the Arc de Triomphe on New Year's Eve. I traveled inland in France, Portugal, Spain, England, Belgium, the Netherlands, Germany, Italy (I LOVE it!), Austria, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Poland, Greece, Turkey and Morocco!

I returned to Brazil to finish my studies and did some amazing research on UN Peacekeeping missions in West Africa. I worked for a while in a Mandarin school and learned the basics of the language - and what an amazing culture! I moved on to a job at the UN and moved to my country's capital, Brasilia. During the pandemic, I fled there and lived in São Paulo. Working with social protection and communications, I also took advantage of the pandemic to learn Spanish and deepen my knowledge of yoga. I was also a consultant for an international NGO for girls' rights and built my first social project.

24-25 YEARS
I won a full scholarship to study for a master's degree in France! I came back to Europe with a thirst for knowledge and self-perception. Here I did volunteer work in an NGO dedicated to women's rights, did a fellowship in Germany in the same area. I made friends from all over the world and took the opportunity to travel to places I had never visited before, like Sweden, the interior of Germany and Tunisia. I spent part of the summer in Brazil and finally got to know Salvador, the most beautiful city there!

NOW? Today I am in the last year of my Master's degree and looking to do another one next year. I am in a very unique phase, where I moved away from home, ended a relationship of years, and finally feel light and free to live what I feel my heart wants me to do: meet lives, connect with the world, realize myself as a person who wants to live and work for the good. So I am preparing myself for the next adventures, trips, projects. Shall we talk about it?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been on Couchsurfing since 2018 more to meet people passing through Rio de Janeiro or in Paris, where I lived from 2018 to 2019 and returned in 2021. I've had two experiences being hosted, one in Brussels and one in Berlin, which were amazing! But with the friends I've made in Paris, including Swedes, Colombians, Spanish, Kazakhs, Italians, Brazilians and more, I travel as long as I can on their couch. When I don't have friends in a city, I try to make them, and that's why I'm here!


  • cats
  • arts
  • photography
  • international relations
  • cinema
  • indie music
  • latin america
  • international politics
  • arts and culture

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: indie, rock, brazilian popular music, 80s
Movies: anything alternative or made by Wes Anderson or Wong Kar-Wai
Books: Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Mia Couto, fantastic realism in general

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I traveled alone to the Sahara Desert!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: how to dance samba, to speak portuguese, to cook some brazilian sweeties, to take analogical photos, to sew, to found some cheap tickets around the world.
Share: let's share our dreams and recipes :P

What I Can Share with Hosts

Nice brazilian food, not so nice jokes, Paris and Rio de janeiro tips :3

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Canada, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Carolina’s full profile.