Logo orange

Carrie L Thompson

Brooklyn, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carrie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Flight Attendant
  • University Degree
  • From Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Girl Seeing World

ABOUT ME

I grew up in a suburb of Little Rock, Arkansas in the United States. My first trip abroad was at the ripe old age of 24 when I participated in a study abroad program in Salamanca, Spain. I then backpacked around Western Europe solo, and have been an avid solo traveler since. My goal was to make it to every continent before my 30th birthday, which I accomplished with 7 whole months to spare. I am now looking for new long and short term goals like 1) going to space 2) joining the Travelers Centrury Club before I'm 40 and 3) meeting Willie Nelson. I'd say I'm incredibly "well rounded" and can enjoy doing most anything.

PHILOSOPHY

I want to do everything!

Really, a friend recently told me that in the end you will have some regrets about opportunities lost. I'm doing everything I can to prevent that from happening. I try to take every chance I can to have a new or different experience. Carpe diem.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Sometime surfing, sometimes hanging out with the nice folks in NYC

Interests

I'm interested in so many things! I enjoy travel (obviously), photography, baseball, softball, kickball, water sports (surfing, diving, canoeing, pretty much anything), music, reading, food, organic farming, animals (except for wasps, of which I am terrified but know serve a purpose in the world), wine, lots of -ologies even if I'm not well educated in them (geology, anthropology, ecology, geeky technology things). I can't get too excited about what celebrities are up to or probably fashion but I can hold a conversation about most anything else.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: (mostly silly comedies) Super Troopers, The Sound Of Music, Happy Gilmore, Billy Madison, Committed, Natural Born Killers, The Princess Bride, Big Fish, Love Actually, Hope Floats, Field of Dreams, Back to the BeachBooks: Love in the Time of Cholera, Ishmael, Into the Wild, East of Eden, The Grapes of Wrath, One Hundred Years of Solitude, What Is the What, Three Cups of Tea, Shantaram, The Little Prince, To Kill a Mockingbird, Grandma's Dead, Breaking Bad News With Baby AnimalsMusic: Most everything, barring rap and reggaeton. The Handsome Family, Willie Nelson, The Strokes, Xavier Rudd, Ben Harper, Sublime, John Butler Trio, Otis Redding, Old 97's, Johnny Cash, Modest Mouse, Ryan Adams, Beastie Boys, Beatles, Toots and the Maytals, Bonnie "Prince" Billy, Palace Music, old country and alt country in general.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've been to all 7 continents, I've climbed Mount Kilimanjaro, been on safari in the Serengeti, studied abroad, worked on an organic vineyard, surfed in Bali, snorkeled with manatees, been to the 2005 World Series of Baseball, hiked for days in Bolivia, sailed from Panama to Colombia, fished for piranha, went on a shark dive in Fiji, sooo many thing!

Teach, Learn, Share

I make damn good guacamole.

Countries I've Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Laos, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Carrie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile