Logo orange

Cass-and-Dev Ellis

New York, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cass-and-Dev's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 28 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish, Swedish
  • 26, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • Cass: therapist; Dev: waitress; Andr...
  • Gender and Sexuality Studies (Cass),...
  • From Fresno, CA; Reno; SF; NOLA; NYC; Asheville; Alaska ; Boston
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to live in an endless summer...

ABOUT ME

cassie:
when i was in the second grade, i got up in front of my class and told them that one day i'd be an explorer. everyone, including the teacher, laughed at me.

when i was 16 the travel bug bit me. at first, my adventures were mild, comprising mostly of train trips to san francisco to visit my then-boyfriend. a year later, another cser came into my life (SAM!) and my weekend upstate outings morphed into two week long excursions to tropical islands. after graduating high school, i took a solo summer-long backpacking trip across new zealand and australia. i settled (haha) in new york, and commenced my studies at NYU. i was fortunate enough to befriend Miss Devon, who is now my full-time partner in crime (think on the scale of Thelma and Louise (substituting the gun/murder with the enticements of The City).

im so happy i am living out my childhood dream of being an explorer. i wake up every morning, awaiting the excitement and spontaneity each new day brings.

life is what you choose to make it, and i simply make it out to be an adventure. i long ago gave up all hope of being a conformist, and now i just do as i feel. with me, there are no plans.

i live the free life

devon:
i was born in georgia, but shortly after moved to alaska, where i spent the majority of my childhood. i mostly lived in obscure towns, such as North Pole! we moved to the North Carolinian countryside when i was a teen, yet despite my rural and southern influences, i yearned for the city. i moved to new york, where i am currently studying anthropology and politics at NYU. i love the spontaneity that the city offers and i try my hardest to take advantage of it :)

PHILOSOPHY

“So in America when the sun goes down and I sit on the old broken-down river pier watching the long, long skies over New Jersey and sense all that raw land that rolls in one unbelievable huge bulge over to the West Coast, and all that road going, and all the people dreaming in the immensity of it, and in Iowa I know by now the children must be crying in the land where they let the children cry, and tonight the stars'll be out, and don't you know that God is Pooh Bear? the evening star must be drooping and shedding her sparkler dims on the prairie, which is just before the coming of complete night that blesses the earth, darkens all the rivers, cups the peaks and folds the final shore in, and nobody, nobody knows what's going to happen to anybody besides the forlorn rags of growing old, I think of Dean Moriarty, I even think of Old Dean Moriarty the father we never found, I think of Dean Moriarty.”

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

cass: i grew up in a cs family. now that i am finally of "traveling age," I am the family road rat.

dev:....no experience yet! but i aim to host and surf!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

cass: My family has hosted numerous travelers...all of whom have changed my life in some way. I can't express how grateful I am that I am apart of family that let's absolute strangers stay in the house! I've couchsurfed a lot in the Bay Area and around New Zealand and Australia.

dev: i've met a few of the couchsurfers that cassie has taken out on the town; however, i have yet to surf or host!

Interests

cass + dev: being a hippie. communal living. literature. social and political activism. cycling. living in new york. animals (alive ones, please). writing. pursuing a law degree so i can go after monsanto. volunteering. spending time in the sun. rugby. protesting. camping. thrift stores. adventuring. hiking. living in warm climates. traveling (obviously). opening a flower shop. taming dingos. adopting weasels/ferrets. quoting Le Petit Prince. going on adventures. simply living and living simply.

Music, Movies & Books

cass:
Movies:
El Secreto De Sus Ojos
Into the Wild (a total cs favorite)
The Departed
Entre les Murs
L'Auberge Espagnol
Wristcutters
Tapped (EVERYONE MUST WATCH)
Mary and Max
the list could go on...

Books:
The Poisonwood Bible
To Kill a Mockingbird
Le Petit Prince
The Heart of Darkness
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Running with Scissors (basically my life story)
The Moral Animal
Any Kingsolver
Any Borges
THE NEW YORKER!!!!

dev:
im just going to add on to cassie's amazing list...

Movies:
Harry Potter
Lord of the Rings
Lots of poorly made romcoms that follow the same predictable plotline
Titanic
Music:
Matt Nathanson
Lady GooGa
Any hardcore southern gangsta rap

Books:
Plato

One Amazing Thing I've Done

CHINA!!, San Francisco with my CS BFF Sam, ran on a deserted highway, biked to hell, wrote for The Fresno Bee, watched the stars, NOLA...I think that says enough, the Bahamas with Sam, Australia/New Zealand 2010!, completed my Fresno bucket list, fell in love, lived in nyc, broke my nose (and dont remember how!!), tamed a dingo, convinced someone to let me stay on their yacht, saw a raccoon in the subway station, rapped Mac Dre to pay my taxi fare, visited the CS house, had sex on the Brooklyn Bridge (just kidding!....but check this out!...http://sexonbridges.com/), spent 2 months on a motorcycle traveling around South America met eachother!

Teach, Learn, Share

cass:
TEACH/SHARE:
BIKES (all about them)
TREE HOUSE BUILDING
MOCKINGBIRD RESCUING (those skills are slowly disappearing though...)
CURRY (ill cook it then share it)
CANIBIS KNOWLEDGE! (though, through cs, im finding mine is quite limited...so please do teach me!)

LEARN:
PLEASE TEACH ME HOW TO PLAY THE GUITAR AND COOK CREOLE FOOD AND SPEAK SPANISH

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Bahamas, Canada, China, Mexico, New Zealand, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Cass-and-Dev's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile