cassandre marmin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 28 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see cassandre’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning English, Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • French as first and second language teacher
  • École de la vie
  • From Bordeaux, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

**JULY 2021 I'm currently recovering from a surgery**

I'm a positive girl who love travel, meet local people and enjoy food from all around the world. Most of the time, when I travel, I like to go to local markets, discover new fruits, vegetables, food, and then cook. Meeting the local people is for me meeting and understanding the country which host me.

I came in Québec in September 2015, originally just for 1 year, but 1 year became more and more... so I'm still here! I got permanent residency (April 2021) after a long fight of 6 years!

Since my travel in Australia and Asia in 2014, I changed my previous lifestyle for the voluntary simplicity, eliminating materialism, high-consumption, prefering donations, exchange way.
I try to be constantly connected with myself, even if it's pretty hard in this crazy montreal-life. And be connected with myself leads me to be more available for be connected with persons around me. I went and still go through many medical problems, that's why also I need to take time for being with myself, in relation with my body, and "la sieste"/nap is essential in my life! ☺️ But tho, I'm also very active, it's just a dance between activities and rest... I love hiking, be in nature.
I love biking since I'm in Montreal, but after a fall on the ice during the beautiful cold winter, I bike now only during summer and autumn 😉 During weekend, I travel through Quebec, sleeping in my little but spacious for me Toyota Matrix!

I'm a past chemist, reconverted into a french teacher for immigrants and also for vulnerable people (homeless, autistic people, people with mental health issues, etc). I really love my job, even if it can be sometimes a source of anxiety. But it's definitely a two-way learning, my students learn from me as much as I learn from them! I can spend so many times speaking about my job (but with less vocabulary in english!), immigration is also one of my favorite subject. As environment, ecology, social justice, etc.
Oh and I'm a booklover and I love also take pics of little things or what people judge "uggly".

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Meeting people, discovering a new facet of a subject/value/experience, discover other cultures, share moments.

Interests

Dancing, dancing and dancing... Dancing is important in my life, my own therapy.
Reading (your library can say a lot about you), writting
Poetry
Bouddhism, taoisme, hindouisme, meditation
Iyengar yoga
Hiking

I would like to start Qi Gong.

  • culture
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • bachata
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • backpacking
  • scuba diving
  • skydiving
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

-music: a little bit of everything, depending on my mood, but my favorite is afrocaribbean, WorldBeats, Tribal music and latino music.
-books: all of them! I would like to not have to sleep for read more! My favorite continent (yes, I classify books by continent!) is Africa, forever.
- I love documentaries. I do volunteering for RIDM (Rencontres Internationales du Documentaire de Montréal) which is a big international documentary meeting in Montreal every year in November. Really good selection of documentaries! My favorite section is «international». Few of them: Je suis le peuple; We can't make the same mistake twice; Fuocoammare

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- the sky in Montreal
- the moonrise in Lagos, Portugal
- the luz in Portugal

- My holidays in Djibouti: average temperature 50°C, the Djibouti break, Assal lake...

- see Ariane 5 go from the assembly building to the take-off zone, but never see a launch during 2 months, due to technical problems

- my trip in Australia, everything was crazy!

- my 10days retreat of Vipassana meditation at Montebello center: 11 hours of meditation per day. An incredible and very intense experience!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Sharing presences, foods, laugh, long talks, poems, writing games, and so many other things in spontaneity!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belize, Colombia, Djibouti, French Guiana, Indonesia, Mexico, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Tunisia, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, France

Join Couchsurfing to see cassandre’s full profile.