Cassia Low's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cassia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 25 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning Japanese, Spanish, Swedish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Graduate Student
  • Neuroscience
  • From Singapore, Singapore
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Gallop across different terrains on a horseback

ABOUT ME

I love to laugh and I laugh ALOT, sometimes for a good reason but most of the time without :D MUAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA
I'm very optimistic and fun-loving. I love kids and animals, especially cats and horses (so it would be really awesome if my host has a pet :)).
I like being random and ridiculous so that I can laugh at myself after that.

PHILOSOPHY

Make an effort to do the things that scare you

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm not the typical touristy tourist. What I really want to do is see every city around the world in the eyes of a local, to better understand and appreciate how people actually live in different places. I'd loved to learn about different societies- their customs, economy, politics, history, language..etc
I believe couchsurfing can help me achieve these goals!

Unfortunately, I can't really host now as I'm based overseas.

Interests

Professionally, I am a mind reader (not lying, I swear), and I specialize in Music Cognition and Perception using a brain-reading machine we call Magnetoencephalography.
I can play a few instruments and sort of pull off as a musician, though I'm nowhere near professional level or anything - I just love to play music. I would totally love to talk about music, and if you have a piano I'll be happy to play something for you:)
I'm a horse and cat person. Other animals are fine too, but I'll go crazy at the sight of these two.
I like adventure sports too, like rock-climbing and horse-riding. Recently, I'm super into ballet and bachata dancing. They are super addictive and you can definitely tag along if you come to visit me.

Oh one more thing...
I'm a foodie born with an unstoppable sweet tooth.

  • animals
  • pets
  • cats
  • horses
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • desserts
  • running
  • partying
  • shopping
  • clothing
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • piano
  • equestrian
  • sports
  • basketball
  • rock climbing
  • history
  • physics

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Generally anything but romance
Music: Biased towards instrumental
Books: Colourful textbooks :D

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Jumping off a cliff in Krabi. Phew!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach...English
or Chinese
or Mind Reading
or Piano
or Guzheng
or Quantum physics
or Bachata

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm a supermarket queen so I can take you on a tour around our supermarkets and tell you what locals usually buy, as well as what is the most value for money food available. If you are also a student who's looking to write your thesis in a different environment, I can accompany you and recommend some nice cafes, because I'm in the same situation and I study everyday too; Or if you simply enjoy reading, please join me. But honestly, I don't know much about bars (I don't drink btw) and shopping. If you wanna party, I may outsource your requests to my party-going friends. I can take you rock climbing, running, cycling, latin dancing and horse-riding though, which is really a much more unique experience :D

To hosts: I'm very easy-going and accommodating. I can appreciate doing anything in a different country. If you have time, please bring me to your favourite places! I can accompany you to do anything - sports/grocery shopping/cooking/lazing on couch all-day/reading/eating/partying/touristy things/non-touristy things/festivals/events/whatever. It's the company that matters! If you don't have time to bring me around, we can simply chit-chat at home, stream movies or I can help you get your groceries (I love the supermarket!!!). If you really really don't have time and would like to lend me your couch anyway, don't worry, I can entertain myself indefinitely :D
Also, I travel light (no check-in for sure because it's cheaper, unless it's a school/work trip in which the tickets are not bought by me) so there won't be a mess of bags and clothes all over your place. I can also sleep, and have slept, under challenging conditions (house rattling snoring/animals fighting/lights on/fire next door etc.).

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Croatia, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Qatar, Romania, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Singapore, Sweden, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Cassia’s full profile. It’s free!