Logo orange

Cathy Anderson

Remagen, Germany

Wants to Meet Up

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cathy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English, Irish, Spanish; learning German, Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • TEFL teacher
  • BA Hons Language & Cultural Studies...
  • From Co. Clare, Ireland
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travel, meet new people, live my passions!

ABOUT ME

I am a cheerful easy-going person who likes to smile. I like to think myself open-minded and friendly. I love learning new things, and am really interested in different ideas, cultures, and ways of life. I can be very chatty and sociable in the right atmosphere, but also love some good chilling out and some quiet time and space for myself.

PHILOSOPHY

Desire. Ask. Believe. Receive.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My account has been lying idle for a couple of years so haven't really started participating yet, but hope to travel a lot in the near future, and to share some time, thoughts and happiness with the people I encounter. Right now I can't offer a place to stay, as I am a woman on the move a lot, but in the future I will surely offer a pair of fluffy socks, a glass of wino and a good story with anyone who stays!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None so far

Interests

Life. People are one of my biggest interests, I spend a lot of time thinking about how different yet similar us human beings are...and this often leads me to contemplating upon the nature of life and the best ways to spend it. I enjoy philosophical conversations.

Being warm and cosy is one of my favourite ways to be! I love dimmed lights, cosy socks and candles, soft blankets, chilled out music.

I love food...I enjoy cooking and I love eating! I love flavors and colours and textures... I love garlic! I'm more used to coming up with random meals then reeling off recipies, but would love to learn some new dishes.

I love nature, though don't spend half as much time outside as I would like. Once the warmer weather begins that shall change! Sunshine makes me happy, but I find frosty weather a bit hard to hack. I am obsessed with looking up at night, and love to see the stars and the moon, I love walking on the beach, or in a forest or through the park, or anywhere beautiful.

Music, Movies & Books

The Lion King, Closer, Million Dollar Baby, Dirty Dancing, Tha Shawshank Redemption, Como Agua para Chololate, Y Tu Mama Tambien...

Lots of different genres! Acoustic, Latino; Reggae and Ska, Soul, Rock, Drum and Bass, Pop... Jeff Buckley, Bob Marley, Alexi Murdoch, Amos Lee, Pink Floyd, The Beatles...

Shantaram, The Alchemist, Veronika Decides to Die, Eleven Minutes, The Glass Castle...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Volunteered for 2 months in Guatemala. First trip far away on my own so was a big journey to undertake at the time. Travelling up into a village in the mountains with native indigenous women I worked with was scary, magical and surreal; riding up into the clouds on a bus full of people who spoke a langauge of clicking sounds, being the first white woman in the village and having barefoot children look at me wide-eyed in wonder.

http://www.eilireland.org/community/members/catherine-anderson/blog

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help anybody that wants to improve their English, or teach a little Spanish to anyone who doesn't know any (I'm still learning myself, so no expert, but can certainly pass on a few words and phrases.)

I can certainly engage you in an interesting/entertaining conversation!

Countries I've Visited

Croatia, Germany, Guatemala, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Wales

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Guatemala, Ireland, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Cathy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile