Abraham Toriz Cruz's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Abraham’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Tamil, Turkish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Software Engineer
  • Mathematics
  • From Mexico City, Mexico City, Mexico
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Mathematician, happy programmer, passionate mountaineer. I love learning, teaching and sharing. I make stuff out of leather and fabric and bike a lot everywhere I go. I'm the kind of person that listens more than he talks. Mostly introvert I guess? Until I get comfortable and then I can talk like a normal person (:

I enjoy food a lot so I rate places by how good their food was and of course how nice the place is. I also enjoy cooking and sharing what I cook.

I have knowledge in bicycle mechanics (I have assembled and helped assemble a handful of bikes for friends) so if you have a bike and you think it squeaks more than it should I can probably take a look at it ;)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The very first time I needed an urgent place to stay to attend a congress on mathematics in a different state. It was an amazing first experience where I met people of very different backgrounds that motivated me to participate as host as soon as I could.

Lately (2022) it seems for some reason that after the pandemic this died a little, but I have hope. I still think traveling and staying with locals is the best possible way of doing it for many reasons! One of them being the invaluable advice you can get from them (or give if you are hosting).

To my fellow couchsurfers: don't let this die.

Interests

  • hiking
  • computer science
  • mathematics
  • mountains
  • mountain biking
  • montaña
  • ciclismo
  • software development
  • matemáticas
  • programacion

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite author is Julio Cortázar. I enjoy reading sci-fi (currently reading God Emperor of Dune). My list of books to read is too long ):

I enjoy a variety of music genre but the one that I enjoy the most is traditional music from Veracruz state, known as Son Jarocho which is played collectively in a celebration called Fandango (think of it as a traditional music jam) where there is no distinction between musician and spectator because everyone participates. If you come to my place I'll probably take you to one! (even though I'm not much of a musician myself).

I have a large collection of movies to share and discuss with people! some of my favorite titles are:

3 Idiots (India)
Mr. Nobody
Children of men
Moonrise Kingdom
Primer
Life in a day
Match Point
Incendies
I dream in another language (México)

not necessarily in that order.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Taking people to the mountains is always an awesome experience both for the guide and for the guided when they realize all the time they've lost in the city.

I cycled from Pittsburgh to Washington solo. Also cycled around Singapore (they call it RTI (round the island)).

I also made my own sandals (three pairs at the time of writing) without prior shoe-making knowledge.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love sharing the little knowledge I might have in the fields of mathematics, programming, hiking, bicycle mechanics, making stuff with leather and sewing (although for the last one if it's something you do you should teach me).

I enjoy learning about new languages, cultures and traditions. I'd love to learn how to dance. I also want to learn more stuff that can be hand made.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you come visit me we should go on a hike. If I visit you and there is a nice hike nearby please take me.

Also if the people at customs allow it I carry with me a ball called "peteca". It's a game from Brazil. It is played like badminton and is really fun.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Abraham’s full profile.