Logo orange

Genevieve Deacon

Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Wants to Meet Up

100% response rate · Last login 28 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Genevieve 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 28 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Currently between successes.
  • Former student of World Religions an...
  • From Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Choosing Ordinary

ABOUT ME

I'm a cheerful person, quick to laugh and quicker to tease. An incurable kIutz, yet undefeated dance-off champion, I'm your standard predictably unpredictable. Coming from a big family, I enjoy constant activity and having other people around. It also means I often become intensely serious and will play devil's advocate at the drop of a hat. A retired world traveler, I love a mix of adventure and routine. Something of a *ahem* "neat freak", these days you'll usually find me puttering around my home with my cat at my heels.

PHILOSOPHY

What's for you, won't go by you.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Beyond hosting surfers and organizing local events, I believe that couchsurfing represents larger values that we all share: community, generosity, self-growth, life long learning, global awareness, and more. These are values I try to live by every day, whether its as tangible as volunteering in my community, or as abstract as doing my best to approach all people with empathy and open-mindedness.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Beginning as a surfer, I had happy and memorable experiences with all my hosts. When it became my turn to settle down and start hosting myself, I was surprised to find I enjoyed opening up my home even more than I had enjoyed entering the homes of others. Though I've hosted many surfers now, I continue to be delighted by the witty and adventurous people that turn up at my door step.

Interests

I'm a "terrible" feminist, as all my favourite things fall in the realm of homemaking. I love cooking, baking, sewing, cleaning (yes, cleaning!), and organizing. I also love walking, reading, DIY, singing, swimming, and general puttering. I'm learning to love working out, I've come to love traveling alone, and I've always loved getting up earlier than everyone else in the house.

Music, Movies & Books

I love books, music and movies but I don't always love talking about them. I'm interested in anything that engages me, whether it makes me cry, laugh, or view things in a new way. Some days I want these things to let me escape, other days to teach me. A great piece of art can be something that makes you uncomfortable and connected at the same time, but a great piece of art can also just be something that makes you laugh so hard you cry.

If that is too vague for you then my favourite author is Neil Gaiman and my favourite book is One Day by David Nicholls. My favourite music is classic rock, my favourite song is Both Sides by Joni Mitchell. My favourite movie as a kid was The Brave Little Toaster and my favourite movie as both a teenager and an adult is Almost Famous.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

My hometown has the world's biggest nickel.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have life skills!!! I can cook, bake, clean, care for children, care for cats, waitress, bartend, budget, event plan, sew, paint, cross-stitch, use tools, drive, skate, ski, swim, tap dance, cut hair, and so much more.

Please, someone teach me how to change a car tire.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Denmark, France, Ireland, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Canada, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Genevieve 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile