Caty Raupp's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Caty’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • College Student, Dancer
  • University of Michigan
  • From Ann Arbor, MI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a 22 year old girl, graduated from the University of Michigan with a Bachelors of Fine Arts in Dance. I just moved to Portland, Oregon where I work as a dance teacher, perform with a professional modern dance company, and make some dank coffee as a barista.

I'm very outgoing and happy person! I have a hunger for adventure. I love to make friends and have fun.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I couch surfed in Berlin and Paris and discovered its the best way to get to know a city. I was shown the coolest bars, parks, and coffeeshops... smaller, local places I might not have found on my own. And the conversations were incredible! To get to be a part of a stranger's life for a little bit is such a privilege.

Interests

Dancing is my main passion in life; I love to perform on stage but also choreograph my own dances. I think of dance as art and a means of expressing oneself, rather than being a competitive sport.

Another interest of mine is being outdoors: camping, long hikes, swimming, surfing, mountain climbing. I like to travel and see people, places, and cultures that are new to me. I spent a month living in a tent in Hawaii, and it was the hardest and most wonderful trip.

What else? Reading books, painting, playing piano, cats and dogs, concerts, gardens, bikes, museums, creative writing, learning, sushi, craft beer, beaches, kayaks, laughing, meeting people, having philosophical conversation.

  • cats
  • dogs
  • arts
  • humanities
  • writing
  • books
  • performing arts
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • beer
  • coffee
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • painting
  • piano
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • beaches
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: acoustic music.... Songs they play in coffee shops.

Movies: Phantom of the Opera, Grand Budapest Hotel.

Books: Just Kids, Looking for Alaska, Marley and Me, Water for Elephants, Eat Pray Love, Jane Austen Book Club, Wild, the Romantics.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Got on the front page of a newspaper in Amsterdam for dancing in a parade dressed as the queen of carnival!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share some wild stories of adventures I've had both at college and while traveling! But most importantly I look forward to having new adventures with hosts. I hope to become close friends who can teach and learn from each other.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Canada, England, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Scotland

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Caty’s full profile. It’s free!