Christopher Brown's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christopher’s full profile.


  • 31 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Georgian, Spanish
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • teacher
  • Master's Degree in History
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Planning my next trip!


Living in Georgia, USA.
You can find more about my travels on my Instagram ( :)
I love to meet new people and try new things. (When I was 4 years old, I met Chuck E. Cheese and won a dancing contest at his restaurant, so it's been smooth sailing ever since.) But I also love hanging out with old friends.
When I meet someone for the first time, my level of talkativeness is usually based on what I think will make them feel most comfortable.
I'm from Georgia (the state in the USA), but I also lived for a year in a village in Georgia (the country located next to Armenia). Yes, I know that's confusing! I have also lived/worked in England, Nicaragua, and Hungary. I went to grad school in New Orleans.


I believe what happens in our lives is partially pure coincidence and partially what we make. So I try to take advantage of the random opportunities I have and also try to create good opportunities for myself and others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have surfed and hosted too. But mostly, I've just hung out with people I met through CS. I'm happy to share travel advice for places I've visited.


My favorite CS experience was meeting a bunch of CS people in Europe, hearing their personal philosophies, and listening to stories of how historical events shaped the lives of their grandparents.


I love dancing (salsa, swing, cha-cha, waltz, rumba, etc.). I also enjoy reading, traveling, everything Italian, learning about history and culture, writing, foreign films, high-quality showers, trying to take the perfect photo, and humor.

Here's an incomplete list of activities I'd probably ENJOY doing with CS members:
exploring a city on foot, non-chain restaurants, bars, dancing, hiking, watching most major sporting events, and good conversations.

Here's the activities that do NOT interest me:
raves, clubbing, smoking cigars.

  • culture
  • writing
  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • news
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • history
  • adventure travel
  • people
  • different cultures
  • learning

Music, Movies, and Books

Just to name a few...
Music: Rolling Stones, Flaming Lips, Ray Charles, Sarah Jaffe.
Movies: Rushmore; Before Sunrise; Die Hard; Woody Allen films.
Books: The White Hotel; The Virgin Suicides; A Confederacy of Dunces; Ernest Hemingway books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A few goodies:
1. Running of the "Bulls" in New Orleans... (They're actually Roller Derby girls with plastic bats.)
2. Kayaking into a bioluminescent bay in Puerto Rico
3. Watching hundreds of sea turtles lay their eggs
4. Hiking to the Gergeti Glacier
5. Coming home to my family at Christmas. Simple pleasures can be as good as exotic ones :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy teaching people the dances that I know, and I want to learn more. I'm also happy to help you practice speaking English. I read the news every day and I studied history in graduate school; I am happy to share my knowledge, and I want to learn new things from you.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach you salsa or other dances. I can help you practice speaking English or Spanish.

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Monaco, Montenegro, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Georgia, Hungary, Nicaragua, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Christopher’s full profile.

My Groups