Logo orange

CECILOO

Leogeats, Aquitaine, France

Accepting Guests

50% response rate · Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see CECILOO's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 10 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, English, French; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 51, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • teacher of English
  • university level
  • From Rions, village, south West of France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I would like to roam the world and share unique moments with anyone who crosses my path

ABOUT ME

I am a fun-loving, energetic, dreamy, very messy woman, and the mother of 3 wonderful daughters aged 18, 14, and 7. My partner (who is not always around, depending on his moods..;) is a 64 year-old sculptor. My whole life has been marked by travelling, which is one of my favorite past times... I particularly favor the sort of travels that will put me in contact with people randomly, according to chance, to my instinct, or to the little angel who's been lingering above my head for the past few decades...that's why I love hitch-hiking, or visiting people I don't know...
I have travelled in many places, but more recently, I had some great experiences with my children in India, Indonesia, Nepal... I particularly liked going around South America in a camper for 10 months, and travelling by cargo ship! Whoever said travelling is over as soon as you have kids was wrong. They actually open lots of doors along the way... The best of ice-breakers!!

PHILOSOPHY

To sum it up roughly, I want to live my life fully, biting big chunks at a time, and enjoying it as much as possible. I wish for a better world, with more indulgence and tolerance for other people in general, although I have no ambition to solve the problems of the planet.. I try to put in my own little simple touch, teaching my daughters that kindness is one of the greatest assets to have and to bestow on people... I have a big problem with conflicts, and with angry, aggressive, sulky people... those should stay away from me!!!
I am trying to lead a simple life, and to consume as little as possible...

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

First of all, I like exchanging messages via the many posts available, making new friends, giving and receiving advice...
I can offer a guest room in an old house in the country, 60 km south of Bordeaux. Nothing like the glamour and excitement of big cities, but my guests would enjoy the peace and quiet of my house and garden...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

none but great, so far. I have had excellent contacts with people who took the time to send me information by mail, and we have been hosted by the kindest possible people everywhere I have been...

Interests

many...I love cooking (and eating, of course!), restoring my home, playing and singing with the kids, watching videos, going for bike-rides, mountain hikes, or simple walks in the country...I enjoy spending time with people, chatting around a cup of tea or a glass of wine, playing pictionnary, exchanging views on the world, the environment, psychology, kids, cooking, clothe-making, old technics of restoration, languages, embroidery, folkdancing....and I am open to new ones!!!

Music, Movies & Books

music : many types, and mostly those you can dance to! nothing too loud...!
Movies : romantic comedies, adventure, historical films...Hayao Myazaki, Almodovar, Coline Serraut, Jaoui/Backri films... French, English and American litterature of all kinds!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Survived being the fourth of 5 daughters!
Travelled extensively throughout Europe, The Americas, North Africa, Asia... some of it with my children.
Hitch Hiked across most of Europe
Bungee jumping (in a dress!) off the Queen Mary, in Long Beach, California.
Gave birth at home, twice!
The Taj Mahal, India (sun glasses indispensable!)
A boat trip on the Mekong river, Laos
The Bay of Halong, Vietnam
A motorcycle trip with a baby asleep on my back, in Thailand
A hot air balloon trip over the valley of the Nile, in Egypt.
The vastness and wildness of Patagonia.
A Christmas barbecue in Ushuaia, Tierra del Fuego.
Driving down the most dangerous road in the world to Coroico, Bolivia!
The Perito Moreno glacier, in Argentina.
The Attacama desert in Chile.
A picnic on the site of MachuPichu, Peru.
Getting drunk on a single caipirinha by the Iguacu falls, Brazil.
Waking up and being healthy everyday, and watching my kids grow up, pretty amazing!!

Teach, Learn, Share

languages, sewing, cooking, old technics of decoration and home restoration, raising kids, gardening...
I'd love to learn all kinds of things : fly a plane, speak another language, be a better person... anything!!
My children and I can teach you some French songs, too! We love to sing...

Join Couchsurfing to see CECILOO's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile