Özhan's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 13% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Özhan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 87 references 70 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Greek (modern), Portuguese
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Post Doctoral Researcher at University of Zürich
  • PhD in Biomedical Sciences
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Finish writing a novel and canoe in as many rivers as possible

ABOUT ME

Travelling, meeting new people and trying to understand the world from their eyes. Since I was a kid, these are the things I've interested in. In the university, I joined the organization BEST (Board of European Students of Technology). With the help of it, I met so many people from everywhere around the globe.

In 2008, I have made my Erasmus which was one of the best things I have ever experienced. One night during my Erasmus year I met a German traveler who could not reach his CouchSurfing host and he explained to me how CouchSurfing works. I loved the idea and I hosted him that night. Since then, I have hosted a lot of people and also traveled around and been hosted by plenty of amazing people.

I did my undergrad studies in Istanbul where I hosted amazing people all over the world. While I have been doing my PhD in Lisbon and kept hosting CouchSurfers almost all weekends.

Feel free to send me a request anytime!

PHILOSOPHY

Πάντα ῥεῖ ( = panta rhei) "everything flows"!

I am trying to find a path. Just to live a life like individual like a tree alone, perfectly; but also together like a forest, peacefully.

I believe that with "Empathy" and "Xalara" (a Greek word for "relax", "be cool") the solutions can come easily.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Relax, travel, meet new people, see new places, host and get hosted; that's all folks!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Some were planned and some just happens accidentally.

Interests

I am really into different cultures, songs, myths, languages. I want to learn new languages and sing songs in them. I can talk about these things for hours.

I like hitchhiking, doing things unplanned, randomly. Sleeping wherever I can. I like to write poems about what I saw or I also like to put myself in the other person's side and write things like that.

I like painting, drawing, sketching, printing t-shirts, sculpting things. Also working on mutant bacteria and depressed mice!

Music is a big part of my life. I took singing classes. I was singing blues and psychedelic rock of 60s. Now, I am quite into early Rembetiko.

I like to cook, whatever possible. I can cook good things from Turco-Greco cuisine.

  • arts
  • writing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • history
  • philosophy
  • science
  • cinema
  • making music

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
Blues, Jazz, Psychedelic Rock of the 60s, Fado, Reimbetiko songs.
To be more specific: The Doors, Velvet Underground, Nico, Pink Floyd, The Kinks, Tom Waits, Leonard Cohen, John Lennon, Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, Queen, T-Rex, Dinah Washington, Astrud Gilberto, Nancy Sinatra, David Bowie, Elle Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, The Doors and then some more The Doors etc. I also play the ukulele. If you want I can try to teach you a little bit.

Movies:
Jim Jarmusch, Jean Luc Godard, David Lynch, Emir Kusturica, Fatih Akin, Wes Anderson, Alfonso Cuarón and Costas Ferris movies and some many others.

Books:
J.D. Salinger, Kurt Vonnegut, Douglas Adams, Albert Camus, Friedrich Nietzsche, Bertrand Russell, Jean-Paul Sartre, Cemal Sureya, Franz Kafka, Oguz Atay, Richard Dawkins and many others.
I read like crazy and when I don't read I listen to audiobooks. So, I can finish a book in every two days. I would love if you suggest me a book that you love and I haven't read yet.

I also write a lot. Some short and some long stories. Some of them are written in English. If you want to take a look at them. I love to talk about books and writing.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Survived the world so far!

Teach, Learn, Share

We can share stories, memories, wine and bread!

I can try to teach the languages that I know.
I can cook for you and teach how to do it!

I would like to learn anything that you can offer to teach.

I can teach you how to make dreadlocks and I can also make one for you if your hair is long enough :)

If you can teach me a dish from your country's cuisine or introduce your national drink, I would be very happy :D

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Portugal, Switzerland, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Özhan’s full profile.