Susan Chan

Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Susan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French, German, Yue (Cantonese); learning Chinese, Russian, Ukrainian
  • 21, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • University of Cambridge
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


See as much of the world as possible! :-)


Hello! I'm Susan, 21 years young, Canadian born & raised, but I now live in the UK where I'm a university student studying Modern Languages & History. I love to travel, learn, explore and meet new people :-)


You only live once, hence take advantage to see, learn and experience as much of this beautiful world as you can!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


1 night in Brussels with Stephen & Scarlett |
2 nights in Wroclaw with Marcin |
3 nights in Prague with Jaap |
2 nights in Dresden with Uliana & Anton |
18 nights (!) in Kyiv and Odessa with Denis & Svetlana

Monika from Luxembourg for 4 nights |
Katarina from Slovenia for 1 night


I love reading (see below) & used to be quite the bookworm when I was a kid! Although unfortunately, I don't quite have time to read as much as I want to anymore with uni and everything! I especially like 'foreign' literature (and 'foreign films'), although that's possibly due to me being a modern languages student :) I just love listening to, reading, and speaking a language that's not my own!

I'm also a bit of a history/politics nerd,€œ especially if it's related to Russia/USSR (I actually love anything to do with Russia/former USSR/Germany haha) I'm a huge baseball fan; that's one thing I miss about living in North America! :( I also love soccer/football, mostly on the international level;€œ I adore the German national team! x

I'd also very fond of food (but really, who isn't?!) I absolutely love trying new things, and I eat almost everything... I am also really keen to learn how to cook so don't mind me if I want to watch you (or help you!) cook!

Last but not least, I love travelling of course! I consider myself very lucky to have been given so many opportunities so far to visit so many amazing places. But I am never satisfied (and I don't think I ever will be!) so I'm always looking for new places to explore. I don't want to be a tourist, but rather a traveller;€œ I want to live and experience the culture and history of the places I go to, not just pass through and put a checkmark on a list!! This is why CS (staying and seeing a new place through the eyes of a local)€œ appeals to me so much.

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite book of all time has to be Orwell's 1984, which I absolutely adore Other classics I've enjoy include Anna Karenina and Therese Raquin. I love anything Kafka. I also really like Beckett's 'Waiting for Godot,' Sartre's 'Huis Clos,' and Ionesco's 'La cantatrice chauve.' I would do anything to see those plays live! And then in contrast, I'm love anything by Nicholas Sparks haha.

As for films, I absolutely adore The Notebook, Amelie (it is my dream to recreate that movie's last scene haha), and Pride and Prejudice. To be quite honest, I'm a sucker for chick flicks (and chick lit!). I really enjoy watching 'foreign films' – I've watched and love Les Choristes (France), Goodbye Lenin! and The Lives of Others (both German) and Incendies and Les Amours Imaginaires (both Quebecois). I'm quite open to things :-)

Music-wise, I'm generally open to anything, but I do enjoy mainstream/top 40 music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A friend and I hitchhiked all the way from Cambridge, England to Warsaw, Poland in less than 24 hours in January 2013 as part of a charity hitchhike (Jailbreak) for our university. We caught 13 lifts on the way, spending not a single penny! It was my very first time hitchhiking, and I have to say, I'm itching to try it again! The kindness and generosity of all the strangers we met was unbelievable!!

Teach, Learn, Share

As a native English speaker, I'd be more than happy to help you with your English

I would love, love, LOVE to practice any of the languages I'm currently learning! I'm more or less conversational/fluent in French and German, but I'm ALWAYS looking for practice in those languages! I'm also learning Mandarin, Russian and Ukrainian, but my knowledge of those languages are very very basic! Other languages I'd like to take a stab at (one day!!) include Swedish and Romanian :-)

I can share with you everything and anything you've wanted to know about Canada, Cantonese culture, and living in England, if that's what interests you!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Jamaica, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Panama, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Susan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups