Charles FrenchQuarter's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Charles’s full profile.

Overview

  • 458 references 368 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 67, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • PR and social media
  • Culinary Institute of America
  • From New Orleans, LA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Friendly, experienced host offering Southern hospitality to nice people
.
⚜️ Welcomed over 350 guests
⚜️ Incredible location
⚜️ Couch in living room
⚜️ Friendly dog for pet lovers
⚜️ Hotspot available from my phone
⚜️ Traveled around world
— — Full list: https://bit.ly/travhistory
⚜️ Now, the world comes to my door
.
.
______________
🏠 HOSTING
.
French Quarter (centre ville, centrum)
- VIDEO (1:00 minute) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LrmSju9O1tE
.
Prime location: French Quarter of New Orleans, the main historic and entertainment district
.
- This is exactly where you want to be
- Walk to sights, music, bars, and restaurants
— 2 blocks to world famous Bourbon Street
— 9 blocks to live music on Frenchmen Street
— 1 block from streetcar (airport/train/bus)
— Parking is restricted (see MY HOME + ask)
.
WHO GETS HOSTED:
- Solo travelers (friends: maybe, couples: no)
- You have three (3) confirmed references from previous hosts (I sometimes make exceptions if your government I.D. has been verified by CS or if you share a copy of govt. I.D. with me)
.
🧔‍♂️ Guys are welcome to make a request
— Send a message even if my calendar is booked. I have an air mattress and sometimes add a second traveler if both guys are around the same age or have similar interests.
.
❌ Sorry, ladies. I'm finished with entitled, fickle, and flaky girls on CS. Plus, y'all take too damn long in the bathroom.
.
- Three+ nights preferred, 2 is the minimum
- Must be 18+ (no children, adult artwork)
- Personalized couch request
- Detailed, information-rich profile
- Responsive to messages
.
🐩 DOG FRIENDLY :
-A miniature poodle lives here (photo: https://i.imgur.com/QMe8WmW.jpg).
-You MUST be a genuine dog lover and willing to interact with 🐩 “Gator” 🐊
.
PREFERRED GUESTS:
- Foodies, culinary arts & adventures
- Folks who offer to walk the dog
- Handy people (work on things in house)
..
PREFERRED CHARACTERISTICS:
- Lots of personality and good manners
- Conversational and considerate
- Shares stories and makes connections
- Intelligent, creative, and appreciates art
- Witty, positive people who are easy-going
- Have common sense; not a space cadet
- Independent (I still work and don't party)
- I’m on the late shift (not an early riser)
— prefer to host folks on similar schedule
.
REMOTE WORKERS
- Must leave and go to an internet café
- especially for video meetings or phone calls
- this also applies to people remote teaching
.
TRAVELING WITH SOMEONE?
- Include details about them (“dual” profile)
- No couples; friends maybe
- Add photos and label each traveler
.
HOSTING GOALS
- 
Make you feel at home
- Welcome, comfortable, safe
- Okay to book in advance (up to 90 days)
— See MY HOME section for more details
.
___________
ABOUT ME
.
New Orleans native (born and raised here)
COVID vaxxed/boosted (6 shots)
Schedule-oriented (NOT spontaneous)
Foodie and occasional cook

Top 10 things to eat in New Orleans (author):
-https://blog.couchsurfing.com/ten-things-to-eat-in-new-orleans/

Open-minded, young at heart, funny
Talkative and straightforward (blunt)
Homebody (don't go out much anymore)
Social drinker (light)
.
Hospitality industry pro, service mentality
Guests have called me “Mr. Mom,” Gay 🏳️‍🌈
- - Str8 friendly, LGBTQ+ friendly
-- Respect for all (check my references)
Myers-Briggs INTP (The Architect, Logician)
-- Ambivert (extroverted and introverted traits)
.
_____________________
BE NICE OR LEAVE
.
🚫 No visitors/guests allowed.
— — No friends. Don’t ask.
.
Don't worry, be happy and drama free
.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Grow; expand my comfort zone
Open my mind to new and different ideas
Learn from different generations; stay young
.

Interests

Food, eating, dining, cooking
Conversation, connections
Dogs
Reading (news and politics)

  • dogs
  • arts
  • architecture
  • fashion
  • tattoos
  • ethics
  • dining
  • cooking
  • politics
  • reading
  • eating out
  • history
  • hitchhiking
  • eating
  • food
  • fun
  • people
  • street food
  • conversation
  • foodie
  • healthy food
  • culinary
  • healthy eating
  • nice people
  • good conversation
  • healthy cooking
  • public relations
  • karma
  • artists
  • lgbt friendly
  • respect
  • public speaking
  • secular humanism
  • food photography
  • culinary arts
  • culinary adventures
  • vegan friendly
  • integrity
  • straight friendly
  • vegetarian friendly

Music, Movies, and Books

The Last Picture Show
The Godfather (I and II)
Star Wars
Lord of the Rings trilogy
Halloween (1978, none of the sequels)
Das Boot (1981 or 1997 director’s cut)
A Prayer Before Dawn
Blue Jasmine
Moonlight
Close Encounters of the Third Kind
Sunset Boulevard
Streetcar Named Desire
Gods and Monsters
Band of Brothers (HBO mini-series)
Precious
Day of the Jackal (1973)
.
Classic Rock, EDM
Oldies (Fifties - Seventies)
Broadway, classical, and Italian opera
—most, not country (except Chris Stapleton).
.
Confederacy of Dunces. John Kennedy Toole
Dancer from the Dance, Andrew Holleran
.
.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

🔥 Firewalking. Mind over matter. PHOTO: https://i.imgur.com/XHuMx1Q.jpg
.

Teach, Learn, Share

👨‍🍳 Will share my knowledge of cooking/ restaurants and things to do locally.
.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My passion for good food, good conversation, and good times.
.
.
⚠️ Be sure to read MY HOME section.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Botswana, Canada, Cayman Islands, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Puerto Rico, Scotland, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Charles’s full profile.

My Groups