Logo orange

Charles Gao

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Charles's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Recently graduated and figuring thin...
  • Bachelor's of Commerce from Queen's ...
  • From Ottawa Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travelling, bboying, making my mark on the world in my own way :)

ABOUT ME

My parents are Chinese and I'm fairly Chinese except for the speaking part. I've been raised in Canada for most of my life and having experienced a taste of so many different cultures want a fuller experience.

I work hard, so I laze as equally hard haha.

I just finished my commerce degree at Queen's, and am now free to...do whatever the hell I want! I'm now working on building a bboying (aka breakdance) community here in Kingston while also working on a bboying-related website & business, and paying the bills by cooking at the Sleepless Goat, a mostly vegetarian/vegan restaurant. Did I mention I love hip hop culture?

Future goals? I'll share them with you next time we meet.

PHILOSOPHY

"Be as happy as you can, as that's the ultimate goal. If you think that means I'd be selfish, selfish people aren't actually happy."

that was my old one. I've since moved on, and realized that to be human is to experience all that we are privvy to, including sadness. It's to experience it all, digest it and savour it.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I like to meet new people and I always want to make new friends, without having to spend an arm and leg. I hope that I can share my knowledge and experience with new people abroad (and I hope that didn't sound too clichéd).

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Crashed in Basel and had amazing hosts! The 24 hours I spent was very well spent.

Interests

I enjoy a lot of different things, like reading books, breaking (breakdancing), drawing, painting, video games, playing guitar, hockey and soccer. I've gotten to like these pastimes as I grew up and just can't seem to give them up. Maybe we can show each other something!

Music, Movies & Books

Books: Currently reading The Making of a Counter Culture by Theodore Roszak, I love books with ideas and powerful messages, whether its Ayn Rand or Marx, Christopher Hitchens or a Case for Christ. Was a big fan of fantasy when I was younger, esp. LoTR, Hobbit, Legend of Drizzt. Graphic novels and great stories are cool, I especially liked reading 1Q84 and Asterios Polyp.

Movies: Star Wars. I don't watch movies often haha I usually watch documentaries I guess.

Music: real hip hop, breaks, funk, soul, jazz, latin, songs with a guitar in it, house, certain electronic music (there are so many subgenres that I don't understand how to describe them all)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

What's amazing to you may not be amazing to me, and vice versa, so really I'd have to tell you stuff until I see you're impressed.

Teach, Learn, Share

Breakdancing is a lot easier than it seems!

I also enjoy cooking. I can show you techniques I've acquired over the short years I've been studying.

I also can show you the basics of playing guitar, drawing, watercolor and oil painting.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, China, Cuba, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Korea, Republic of, Latvia, Portugal, Singapore, Switzerland, Taiwan, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Charles's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile