Logo orange

Charlie Delhumeau

Champagny-en-Vanoise, Rhone-Alpes, France

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Charlie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 23 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Macedonian, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • tree climbing instructor / graphic d...
  • life
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Being host in another solar system in the milky way

ABOUT ME

got a bag full of motivation to travel and meet people from everywhere (well, especially people from the planet earth til now)...
I especially love outdoors activities, and wild landscapes and all the people I can encounter and share great and simple things thanks to those places.
Right now I live in my van during summer, and well not sure about winters. Meaning I am often on the road... I have a couch on wheels !
Hope we'll meet soon !!

PHILOSOPHY

Best quote to summarize my actual point of view of life is from Bill Hicks :
"The world is like a ride at an amusement park. And when you choose to go on it, you think that it's real because that's how powerful our minds are. And the ride goes up and down and round and round. It has thrills and chills, and it's very brightly coloured, and it's very loud and it's fun, for a while. Some people have been on the ride for a long time, and they begin to question - is this real, or is this just a ride? And other people have remembered, and they come back to us. They say 'Hey! Don't worry, don't be afraid, ever, because, this is just a ride."

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I like to share an alternative point of view of the places I live in, and to give a part of myself in the people's travels !

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been hosting many people (in france and when living abroad) and couch surf many places.
All the experiences were really great and unique, and it's such a wonderful feeling to have a friend in few minutes in a place you have never been before !
the best things are never planned...
Usually I don't make plans much in advance, then always find myself making last minute couch request ! So far worked great :)

Interests

Music, landscape photography, guitar, travels, cinema,
outdoor sports (climbing, tree climbing, snowboard, paragliding, bike, hiking, frisbee, slack line !)
Love wild camping and hiking in moutains with a good friend and avoiding civilisation for days

Music, Movies & Books

movies : This must be the place, The fantastic planet, Fear and loathing in las vegas, The Big Lebowski and others Cohen brothers movies, Waking Life, Fight Club, Werner Herzog documentaries, Gondry s movies, Sci-fi,

1984, Siddartha, SteppenWolf - herman hesse- , On the road, Chuck Palhaniuk (sick but nice), Kundera(s), David thoreau, Shantaram, Verne,

Pink Floyd, Tool, incubus, RATM, Gorillaz, Cake, Kilimandjaro dark jazz orchestra, Gogol Bordello, Balkans music, La rue ketanou,

One Amazing Thing I've Done

surfing warm waves of the caraibean sea,
hiking with snow shoes by night in the moutains
ice climbing
taking care of tomatoes (not impressive, but really enjoyed it, life is made of simple things)
Paragliding
Struggled with a dumb rhinoceros baby
Crossed by foot the frontier between Nepal and India, (the funniest frontier I've ever seen)
rail trip to cross india from north to south
Made friend with a fox in Ukrainian mountains
Hiking and Backpackin in Georgia

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach photography, climbing , tree climbing or slack line, guitar
I can give you some advices about travelling in the balkan countries if you are interested (I used to live in Macedonia), or about india and nepal
I would like to learn yoga
I can show you how to cook Indian tali - traditionnal indian meal,

What I Can Share With Hosts

Now that i live in a van, i can offer you... the world :) in a limited range of kilometers.
I have the biggest garden in the world, and everyday i can wake up with with a new view on crazy wild landscapes , and have a comfortable breakfast in the nature

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guadeloupe, India, Italy, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Nepal, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

France, Ireland, Macedonia

Join Couchsurfing to see Charlie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile