Logo orange

Charles's Groups

Charles Richardson

Leek, Staffordshire

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Charles's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 5 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, German
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Visual Artist, English Teacher, Expl...
  • Fine Arts degree (Distinction) Malag...
  • From Waterhouses,Leek, Stafforshire
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To show my work around the world

ABOUT ME

I am a person of contrasts: When I was 21 I had a house, job, etc. I left it all , sold my house, and went to work in Birmingham on my passion: Art.
There I worked at the Midlands Art Centre and had some exhibitions at the BBC and the REP Theatre.

One day I realised I was missing some kind of travel experience, I rounded up funds and traveled 5 months all over Europe (working and exploring) : France, the Iberia peninsula, Italy and camped across the eastern block. One highlight was climbing over the Tatra Mountains which lie between Poland and Slovakia.

It was great, nevertheless I was left feeling that I had met a lot of travelers and not many locals. Therefore, on arriving back in England, seeing that I could still fund myself, I bought a ticket to Guatemala (on the advice of a friend I met in Hungary) to study Spanish and live with a fantastic family in the Highlands of Guatemala - Xela.

This was a real cultural shock and I loved it! Three months later, after having learned Spanish, I traveled around Mexico and Guatemala - it was an inspiring experience and a real eye opener. On returning to Xela I settled for 7 months working as a Cook and waiter in a cafe; as an English teacher in a school for Kids without Education, and helping out during the disastrous Hurricane Stan.

Knowing that I wanted to continue in a Spanish speaking country, back in Europe I decided to study a degree in Fine Arts in Spain. I found myself in Granada, studying and working and it was there I passed my entrance exams. I returned to Guatemala to work a few months back at the school then returned to Barcelona. I wanted to see if I could learn Catalan and stay there to study. After 7 months working and studying I realised Barcelona wasn't for me and returned to study in Andalusia.

Four years of studies, one of which was in Helsinki (Erasmus) and the last in Valencia (Seneca), where my Catalan came in handy, I finished my degree. So, I found myself back in England studying a Masters in London at the renowned Slade school of Art. On finishing my degree show piece went very well( digital animation) and from it I received many opportunities and won the important Saatchi New Sensations prize. It has been very bust since then: a solo show in London, a screening on Miami beach at art Basel, etc. And this is where I find myself somewhere close to what I always wanted - to be an artist who can travel and show his work around the world.

I would say I'm a happy, energetic and relaxed person who likes to see the world and at the same time enjoys a book and a cup of tea.

PHILOSOPHY

LIVE AND LET LIVE.
If you can't do anything about it don't stress out ( I wish I could follow this one). Try your best at everything.
Be good to your friends and family.
Look for happiness, although sometimes it may be hard.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Amazing opportunity to meet extraordinary people

Interests

Film,
Photography,
Interventions,
Actions,
Language,
Renovating,
dreaming,
finding,
building,
Well written fiction,
Carboot sales (fleamarkets),
Collecting efemera,
Walking in the countryside,
Walking around the city,
Invention,
digital art,
Running,
Cooking,
Cooking with friends,
Sitting on Balconies,
Working in a team......

Music, Movies & Books

Films by: Jim Jarmusch,The Cohen bros.,Andrei Tarkovsky,Krzysztof Kieslowski,Wim Wenders,Luis García Berlanga,Javier Codesal,Stanley Kubrick, Pasolini, Antonioni,Wong kar wai, Jean-Luc Godard,Jean Rauch,Lars von triers,Nobuhiro Suwa,David Lynch, David Kroneburg,Michael Winterbottom ...Books: Any Oliver Sacks..., Foucault, The Bell Jar, Silvia Plath,100 years of solitude;G.G.Marquez, A Homage to Catalonia;George Orwell,The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, A Spot of Bother;Mark Haddon, Cry, the Beloved Country; Alan Paton,Shackleton;Ronald Huntford,Things Fall Apart;Chinua Achebe, Levi- Strauss, Cloud atlas ,Nietzsche,Bukowski, Dickens..... Music: The Clash,The Stranglers,The Happy Mondays,Gold Panda,Caribou, Belle and Sebastian, The Smiths, Ottis Reading, MOTOWN Eurythmics, Debussy,Mozart,Stravinsky,Bat for Lashes,Chopin,Chet Baker,The Specials,The Eagles,Radiohead,Beth Orton, Beethoven, Shostakovitch, The Kinks,John Spencer Blues Explosion,Kate Bush,Air, daft punk, Bjork,Good Electronic, Good drum and bass,Old jazz, Post punk and on and on..........

One Amazing Thing I've Done

How can it just be one?Climbing Santa Maria the biggest Volcano in Guatemala;Going to "el Rio Dulce" and "Tikal" in the Guatemalan Rain Forest;Traveling on a slow train across Andalucía; Living in "El Albaicín" Granada with 15 friends in a 16th century ruin; Getting out of a sauna naked and into ice holes in Lapland at -36 degrees; seeing thousands of Bats in the caves around "Copan" the coffee region of Guatemala; Watching a storm come in on the top of a roof in Oaxaca(Mexico) then going to Mexican "Serenatas" 'love song party' in the mountains;Climbing across the Tatra mountains in Poland to Slovakia; Camping in the mountains of Croatia and waking up in a field to a giant rainbow hanging over the tent;Rafting in Cesky Krumlov down to some fine bars on the river's edge where they were serving refreshing chilled Czechoslovakian Pilsner; Living with some fantastic people in a Colonial house in Xela,Guatemala; Going down the Sumero Cañon in Chipas Mexico and seeing crocodiles everywhere;Swimming and diving in "El rio verde" in the Andalusian Mountains; Traveling to Morocco for the New year and eating too many sweet cakes...........Walking out 3 km onto a frozen sea in Helsinki.......

Teach, Learn, Share

I could share my creative ability of photography and film. I can cook really well; therefore, I could share my cooking knowledge. I could teach languages (those with which I have an Expert level in)It would be nice to learn others Languages, musical skills and maybe technical skills in film or curating.I play the drums and did for years,I could share my knowledge of Drumming.

What I Can Share With Hosts

All my experiences and my good nature. I can happily cook and help with any small chores.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Finland, Guatemala, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Charles's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile