Logo orange

Charlotte Lau

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Charlotte's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Portuguese, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • visiting researcher at CIAT (interna...
  • B.A. in international relations
  • From new york city, born and raised
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

laugh as much, as hard, and as often as you can

ABOUT ME

I was born and raised in New York, so I love sitting on stoops, people-watching, and chatting about nothing. I place a premium on quirkiness and will trade you home-cooked meals for silly stories-- as long as you don't mind that I possibly curse too much, and can be more than a tad bit sarcastic. But really, I'm pretty easily amused and will laugh at just about anything.

I am also too curious (and gullible) for my own good, and though I am often indecisive, when I do make quick (read: rash) decisions, they have led to some pretty epic adventures. Sometimes at 6000 meters above sea level, or, you know, on top of a bar table singing and dancing like there's nobody watching. Oh, and I ADORE good food. And all dogs.

I'm also a pretty big nerd and love intellectual conversations about politics, economics, art, graffiti, literature, people, or life. And, along those lines, am pretty obsessed with scrabble and Settlers.

Since leaving NYC six years ago, I've lived in: the Bay Area (California), Buenos Aires, Lima, Cali (Colombia), New Delhi, and now Cape Town!

PHILOSOPHY

Try everything once. / Nada en la vida es grave. / Be the change you want to see in the world.

Interests

cooking, dancing til dawn, watching guilty pleasure American TV (e.g., True Blood and Glee), art, movies, literature, traveling, hiking, champagne at any hour of the day (life is worth celebrating), watching sports (warning: I am indeed a Yankees fan but you are allowed to give me shit for it)... oh, and most recently, i've developed an interest in throwing myself around without abandon, so i've started aerial acrobatics and other classes :) and academic interests: poverty alleviation and economic development, esp in latin america; political graffiti

Music, Movies & Books

completely doesn't include everything but here's a shot...

MOVIES: eternal sunshine of the spotless mind, city of god, amores perros, before sunrise/after sunset, garden state, waitress, finding nemo, when harry met sally

MUSIC: hip hop, blues/jazz, pop, latin, and my friends keep trying to get me to appreciate indie rock (i'm a work in progress)

BOOKS: a home at the end of the world (michael cunningham), white teeth (zadie smith), beloved (toni morrison), indecison (benjamin kunkel), prep (curtis sittenfield), all the president's men (carl bernstein and bob woodward), eats, shoots and leaves (lynne truss), disgrace (j.m. coetzee), persepolis (marjane satrapi). and most things by junot diaz, jhumpa lahiri, or lori moore.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

pink sand in bermuda. beaching it on the french riviera. tanning during the winter in california. celebrating the running of the bulls in pamplona. riding an elephant in thailand. walking along the great wall of china. trekking six days to machu picchu. paragliding in the central sierras with the argentine champion. backpacking through glaciers in the chilean patagonia. hanging out with magellan penguins. studying at oxford university. growing up in new york city.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love cooking with people

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, South Africa, Thailand

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Colombia, India, Peru, South Africa, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Charlotte's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile