Logo orange

Valentina Migliori Vizzini

London, London, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 24 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Valentina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 22 Positive References1 Negative
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning Arabic, French, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • BA in Modern Languages
  • I'm working on that
  • From Gotham City. Nah, ok: Catania, Italy
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Gap YAH: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eKFjWR7X5dU

ABOUT ME

What I'm currently doing with my life: I study Modern languages in Ragusa, Italy. I will graduate in november and afterwards I've decided to go on a gap yah (http://youtu.be/eKFjWR7X5dU) and possibly live in the U.S. for a few months. The next step will be moving to my beloved England and do an MA in International Relations in London.

How I'm spending my days at the moment: I'm in the process of writing my dissertation. It's going to be about the feminist movement in Egypt and the Arab spring. So PLEASE, if you're either from Egypt/know a lot about these subjects, HELP ME! ;)

Favourite drink: tequila sunrise and everything containing tequila, really. And red wine, of course. And orange juice.

Favourite places: dark theatres, hot showers, London, airports, ferry boats, comfy beds, museums when they're empty, bookshops, and wherever my 7 years old niece is.

A few languages I speak: Italian, not surprisingly since I was born and raised in sunny Sicily. British English (which is my absolute favourite language. Somebody speaking with a British accent, using proper grammar, sounds like music to my ears. And is also quite sexy, let me add. But this can be said about using language properly in general: nothing, nothing is more fascinating than words and the way we use them). I also speak some French and some Spanish. And I’ve been studying Arabic for 3 years now, although I feel like the only thing I can really say is: ذهب سالم إلى السوق واشترى كيلوغرامين البرتقال
‘Salim went to the market and bought 2 kilos of oranges’.

Religious views: I believe in Sherlock Holmes.

Favourite film: I LOVE watching films and going to the cinema, I’m such a movie buff really. It’s one of my favourite things in the world, especially since you can do it without necessarily having to leave your warm comfortable bed/sofa. Have a look at my rating history on IMDB if you like: http://www.imdb.com/user/ur31302695/ratings?start=1&view=detail&sort=your_ratings:desc&scb=0.7701165641192347

How I feed myself: I’ve been a vegetarian for more than 2 years now I don’t think I could ever go back to eating meat. A book I’ve read and I think you should read too is: http://www.amazon.com/Eating-Animals-Jonathan-Safran-Foer/dp/0316069906

One person I wish I knew in real life: Jenna Marbles, who else?!?! http://youtu.be/1IZR0VpLCeE

Bands I've seen live: Arcade Fire, Deep Purple, Interpol, Bonny 'Prince' Billy.

Last book I've read: 'Only in London' by Hanan Al-Shaykh (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Only-London-Hanan-Al-Shaykh/dp/0747557926)

Favourite TV series: Six Feet Under is my absolute favourite. You should watch it, it changed me somehow and thought me how no matter what we do "Everything, everyone, everywhere, ends". I also like: Misfits, Sherlock, Grey’s Anatomy, Pretty Little Liars House M.D...

Random stuff I like:
Rock Music, Foreign Languages, Dark theatres, Travelling, a 6-year-old kid called Trilli, Sleeping, Photography, Baking Cupcakes, veggie food, women history, feminism and women issues, trains, UK, liberal politics, nail polish, ferry boats.

PHILOSOPHY

"Then you begin to give up the very idea of belonging. Suddenly this thing, this belonging,it seems like some long, dirty lie ... and I begin to believe that birthplaces are accidents, that everything is an accident. But if you believe that, where do you go? What do you do? What does anything matter?"
— Zadie Smith

'As a woman I have no country. As a woman my country is the whole world.' - Virginia Woolf

'Feminists do it better' - Jessica Valenti

'Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid' - Albert Einstein

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I tell everybody I know about Couch Surfing and how great I think it is. I also try to host as much as possible.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I was hosted by:
Dan in Newcastle, UK (november 2010)
Kristy in London, UK (december 2010)
Rosalind in London, UK (december 2010)
Abby in Manchester, UK (february 2011)
Roosa in Manchester, UK (february 2011)
Kristy (again!) in London, UK (march 2011)
Alejandro in Verona, Italy (july 2011)
Steve in Vicenza, Italy (july 2011)
Alberto in Padova (july 2011)

I have hosted:
Giovani from Mexico & Magda from France (june 2011)
Matty from San Francisco, United States (june 2011)
Adam & Krisztina from Budapest, Hungary (july 2011)
Steven from the U.S. (august 2011)
Oz & Sapir from Israel (september 2011)
Michel from Germany (september 2011)
Michael from England (november 2011)
Zoey from New Zeland (december 2011)
Sara from Italy (february 2012)

Interests

See "Personal description" :D

Music, Movies & Books

MUSIC:
Tom Waits, Radiohead, Baustelle, Belle & Sebastian, Interpol, Editors, Florance & the machine, De André,The eels, The Raveonettes, Sia, Coldplay, Carmen Consoli, Sonic Youth, The Ramones, The Clash, Iron & Wine, Patti Smith, The Beatles, Janis Joplin, Arcade Fire, Ani DiFranco, Afterhours, Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, Glasvegas, Madonna, Garbage, Pete Yorn, Duffy...and Rihanna?

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Ask me again in a few years and I'll tell you!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: I can try to teach you some Arabic (but remember I'm a beginner), how to make chocolate cheesecakes!How to book flights to the wrong destination and stay calm when you find out the night before, how to cook soy lasagna, how to put eggs in your hair and have healthy shiy locks. Awwww, and how to fall at least once a day without breaking your neck!...

Learn: I'd like to learn something more about photography, British history, sustainable living or... how to walk (so I stop falling at least once a day)but really, I'm a very curious person: i'm interested in learing almost everything. ;)

Countries I've Visited

France, Ireland, Poland, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Valentina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile