Logo orange

Rachel Bucknall

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 126 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian, Japanese
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Freelance Graphic Design, Flaneuse e...
  • Batchelor of Visual Communication (H...
  • From Melbourne, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To be in the moment

ABOUT ME

I've dreamt about traveling since I was very little and it's still a really important part of my life. People tend to describe me as very friendly, knowledgable, organised and confident. I can be extremely determined and perhaps a little overwhelming and structured at times ;) But I love to learn new things, meet great people and generally hope to enrich the world with my contributions! I'm inspired by community building, cooking, gardening and relearning how to create. p.s. I always forget to mention that I'm vegetarian - which gets embarrassing when someone inevitably suggests meat for dinner ;)

PHILOSOPHY

Live life to the fullest - you're lucky if someone wants to come along for the ride but real happiness comes from within you.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I helped out with Melbourne's summer festival in 2008 which was lots of fun, but tough work! I've been hosted and I host when I can. I try to join events wherever I am and have organised a few of my own.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I kinda 'fell' into official couchsurfing in Canada after doing the unofficial version for a while and haven't looked back since! It's been a fantastic way to broaden my travels in all senses of the word and get to know some really lovely people.

Interests

Travel, environmentally friendly living, the skill of NOT getting lost in London, dancing, conversing, meeting memorable people; music of many descriptions, cooking, eating and trying out new drinks! I'm learning to garden and crochet, I'd love to learn how to sew and collaborate more creatively. I'm especially interested in sustainability activities at the moment like food swaps and fix its.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Oh brother where art thou, L'auberge espagnole, Twelfth night, Romeo + Juliet, My neighbour Totoro, Goodbye Lenin, Priscilla queen of the desert, The castle, Pulp fiction, The science of sleep, Lock stock and two smoking barrels, Clueless Music: Current fave is We are the birdcage. Generally anything Indie/Folk/Rock/hip hop rocks my boat; traveling for months without a music player you realise what a luxury recorded music is!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

My whole life amazes me - I feel so incredibly blessed. Watching the sunrise as I waited for the tube knocked my socks off every morning in London. Following rabbit tracks in untouched light-as-air snow on a warm spring day in Nova Scotia was magic. Seeing Leonardo Da Vinci's 'Last Supper' was well worth the day's budget I paid to see it. Stumbling upon an impromptu performance the local pipe band gave to their friends and family after the Ballater Highland games in Scotland gave me goosebumps and I was in awe of the variety of plants we found while walking through Tasmania.

In Morocco it was wonderful to be able to converse with a shoe maker in Marrakech about his family, baby daughter and his work. I was honoured that he invited us to have dinner at his home and so sad we weren't able to take him up on the offer. Back home, I've undertaken a road trip from Melbourne to Darwin and back, which has added Mataranka to my list of favourite places in the world.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a bit of an environmental hippy but in middle income kinda way ;P My friends say I'm wiser than my years and certainly I'm interested in philosophy and spirituality but I'm more emotional and scatty than reasoned and tenatious. Um...I can design you a killer business card or show you how to set up a document which actually says what you need it to say!

I'm fairly experienced in cooking but would love to learn your special dish; I know a small amount about permaculture and gardening in general but I've got a lot more to learn in these areas.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile