Chetan Gaonkar's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chetan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 59 references 44 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Japanese, Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Marine Biologist
  • Ph. D
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I spent a lot of time in different places and learned a new culture and met interesting people. My last stay was in Italy and in the heart of Napoli, the best place in Italy. Awesome food and great people.

A few words about me, I'm a researcher working in Marine Biology. I worked in Kochi, Japan as an Invited researcher for Japanese Ministry of Aquaculture and Environmental Sciences. At present I’m in transition to move to my new work. I’m back home for some vacations and I'm interested in making new friends to hang out with and know the place as well as learn the language.

About my work: I work with the small microscopic life in seawater, some which are toxic and leads to mortality of species. If you are interested I can talk more about it.

Interests: I like meeting people, discover different traditions and cultures from people around the world. I like hanging out with friends, having a drink and having a good positive discussion about the world. I prefer being in nature or having fun or staring sky on the beach.

Philosophy
Travel while you're young and able. Don't worry about that money, just make it work. Experience is far more valuable than money will ever be.

My Philosophy
Every human should do something crazy that will help him find his place in the world and create some stories to discuss later.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Its a great platform to meet new people who can share their experience and think about life and nature.

WARNING: as other members have pointed out, the main purpose of this site is not, not, not, getting free accommodation. Therefore, if your only interested in that, please refrain from contacting me. Oh, and leave a reference after being hosted! People are not obliged to host you, so leaving a reference is just a gesture to say thank you. In your own interest, please read my profile and tell me why you would like to spend time with me.

I just relocated to Kochi, Japan. Hence it would be nice to have a discovery buddy, as opposed to a mere freeloader. Btw I did host much more than it looks like but thanks to some lazy cs people who don't bother to leave a reference.

Interests

Camping , photography, trekking, tasting tea, helping, muscle spasms, smiling, walking, massage exchange, naturalism, waking up in nature, animals, birds and insects, hangouts and looking for some crazy adventure, wandering in wilds and other natural places, being completely natural in the nature. Also interested in spirituality, onsen, meditation, healing, alternative concepts of body, mind and soul, eastern and western philosophy, tantra, culture and living, ecology, sustainability, the relation between human and nature.

  • animals
  • birds
  • insects
  • culture
  • photography
  • beauty
  • dancing
  • dining
  • beer
  • meditation
  • walking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • camping
  • ecology
  • beaches
  • adventure
  • naturalism
  • massages
  • trekking and camping
  • biologist

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Jim Carrey movies, Real life stories and many mores goofy silly comedies., animated one if they are good and entertaining.
Books: Not fond of reading but have been in a profession where reading is a must, so have been reading different things. Nothing is my favourite yet.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Camping alone in the lonely place at night with no sign of humans around.
Enjoyed a real time with nature and revealed a new vision of seeing life.
Got a scholarship to do my research, and successfully completed it.
Attended European Rainbow in Italy 2017.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach and Share: First I will greet you with Smile and Hugs in my place. I can tell you about my work. The interesting biology of small important organisms in the sea. Can show you some beautiful picture of astonishing world of microorganisms. I can share some information about India, its tradition and if you want to learn some basics will help you with its language.

Learn: Will be happy if you share you stories about travels and things you admire. I will be happy if anyone teaches me to dance salsa or tango, anything. Also, I am interested in learning your tradition, culture, language and if possible some food.

Share: we can share our knowledge, time, memories and good times to have fun.
I can share you a spare bed for few nights.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am pretty new to Kochi, as well as Japan, so I am open to joining you to explore the city.
Also, would be able to share some nice food in the local places and can share some beers and good conversations.
Rest all you can demand to have, based on availability.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Luxembourg, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Chetan’s full profile.

My Groups