Pawan Kashyap

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pawan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • At the moment, nothing (uh oh) - that real world stuff ca...
  • Not very well. I studied physics at university but I'm re...
  • From Churchill, Victoria, Australia. Landmark: A giant cigar.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To travel around Europe as much as I can with a certain, special friend of mine.


Hopefully my friends think I'm relaxed, friendly and easy to talk to. I admit, I like lame jokes though. I like to talk a lot. I don't go out every night - I prefer to talk to small groups of people then always hang out in large groups. I like to help out where I can (though I don't have many skills, so I generally just do the dishes wherever I'm staying).


When I get smart enough to understand philosophy books, I'm going to put an awesome quote in here. Hopefully that quote will have something to do with laughing and helping people feel good about themselves.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


At the moment, I'm travelling around Europe. When I get back home to Australia (or if I find a semi-permanent place here) I'm going to host my little heart out!


I've met some great people through CouchSurfing - I've only couch surfed at one place but my host was way friendly and way cool.


I love languages! I'd really like to travel and see how different people talk and how they live. I like long, rambling discussions that don't necessarily have to have a point. I like seeing people really interested in something. I like to hear people talk in detail about things they like. I'm a bit of a nerd so I'm interested in things technical but I'd also love if people could talk to me of art, literature, history and other fun things - I don't know much about those things but I'd like to.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: I love movies! If I could, I would spend my days in a cinema. I quite like old films and serious films. I'm not a huge fan of violence. Sometimes I get in a silly mood and like throw away films. I'm a bit limited to English language stuff but hopefully that will change. Last good movie I saw: The Big Sleep - I love Humphrey Bogart! I quite like film noir. TV-wise, I like British comedies - Blackadder, the IT Crowd, Father Ted, the Fast Show, the Office etc.

Music: I like a lot of things. OK, I like rock and pop. I like jazz and swing (especially to dance to). Two bands stand out though: The Cure (! enough said) and Piano Magic (incredibly cool). Actually, a lot of bands stand out. Joy Division, the Smiths, David Bowie, the Beatles...and more!

Books: I wish I didn't read so slowly! I feel like there are too many to mention here. Last good book I read: Sum by David Eagleman - very good, very thought provoking. Murakami is pretty cool. I like the Unbearable Lightness of Being. I just bought the Maltese Falcon (in German - one day I will be able to understand this language).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 2007 I saw the Cure at a concert with one of my best friends. It's a bit corny to say, I know, but it was amazing!

This year I've seen the Cure twice with a really good friend of mine. Being at one concert with them when the Cure played (for one of many encores) one of my favourite songs was pretty cool.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teaching/sharing: I have done some beginner linguistics courses and a CELTA course, so I'd love to discuss languages. I've also tried various language learning resources and can share my experience. I've also studied science (physics) but I was pretty bad at it :P. Still, feel free to ask questions.

Learning: I'd love to learn German and about Germany. I'd like to know what it's like to live in Germany and what locals think about it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Fiji, Germany, New Zealand

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Pawan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups