Gary Weir's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 15 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gary’s full profile.

Overview

  • 118 references 53 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, German
  • 52, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • US Government
  • Masters Degree
  • From New York, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My mission is to assist all my fellow travelers and to get assistance when needed.

ABOUT ME

Outgoing and adventurous person that likes to have fun and play sorts. I like to do just about anything, as long as it is fun. I love to Travel, been to 112 countries already... and will continue to add more! My next trip planned will be to Morocco, Argentina and Hong Kong. I have to try to determine where I will go in Oct 2020 for my Birthday, I am thinking Bora Bora... any recommendations?

PHILOSOPHY

Do unto others as you want done unto you; Treat others how you want to be treated!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I participated when I was in Norway, and I couldn't find a hotel. The hotel receptionist only had one night each in 4 different hotels, so she recommend to me to try CS. I didn't get a "couch", but my next trip to Turkey really go me started. I didn't get a "couch" there also, but I was invited to so many events and met great people. I had already PAID for my hotel, so when I was offered a couch after each meeting, I declined, but got a lot of references. And that's how I started my CS career! LoL

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had my first "Guest" on 31 Mar 09 and ended up hosting over 15 in Germany. I have only hosted 8 in the US... Guess Fayetteville is not a place people want to visit! LoL I have been hosted at least 50 times by some awesome people! I have had nothing but a great experience so far... I love it!

Interests

Sports, bowling, shooting pool, traveling, discovering new cities, taking pictures, exploring new places, music, literature, people watching, smiling faces, skiing, snowboarding, movies, theater plays, reading, talking, walking, yoga, great conversation, dancing, running, lifting weights all outdoor activities, getting and giving massages (I was a licensed massage therapist), theater, skiing, snow mobiling, learning about different lifestyles and other activities. I like animals and going for long walks in the nature. As stated, I am adventurous!

  • animals
  • culture
  • literature
  • theater
  • perfumes
  • dancing
  • yoga
  • running
  • walking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • billiards
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hunting
  • bungee jumping
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • bowling

Music, Movies, and Books

Tyler perry movies and books. I also love James Patterson and Tom Clancy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have seen 114 different countries, visited 6 of the 7 continents in the world and I have bungee jumped off a bridge. Updated!! The pillow fight in Cologne was so much fun, see my pictures for details.

Teach, Learn, Share

UPDATED!!! I learned that there are different types of people all over the world... there are some we will never understand, based off of norms, beliefs and culture. But to get to know them and how they "tick" (like a clock) is so incredible. I have learned so much about people and their culture by CS. It's not all about money, it's about life experiences!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share the joy of happiness, giving and make sure you have a great time!

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, American Samoa, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guam, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, North Korea, Northern Ireland, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin (French part), Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Jamaica, South Korea, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    12 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gary’s full profile.

My Groups