Christian Kaesermann's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 40 References 25 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Swiss German; learning French
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • working as an information security specialist
  • doesn't matter does it?
  • From Utzenstorf, Bern, Switzerland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


complete our camper-lorry


I'm a rather down to earth person.

I'm uncomplicated, open-minded, helpful, calm, friendly... Often I'm quite chary and it takes some time, till I feel comfortable when meeting new people. But it allways depends on the other person and the situation.


I think, you don't have to travel far, as long as you don't really know what's in front of your doorstep. Many extremly interresting, funny or otherwise special travel-experiances I've made in Switzerland (whereby I won't say, that I didn't make any good experiances in other countries - rather the opposite).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Offering our couch and beeing part of the active CS-Scene of Bern. Visit meetings of the CS-Bern group and also organising some events.


I've made several experiences when traveling through Switzerland, Germany and UK before even knowing about couchsurfing.
Since beeing part of CS we've made the following experiences:

Hosting (29 people - 51 accommodations)

3 Nights Sebastian from Freiburg, Germany
3 Nights Emily and Patrick from Chattanooga, USA
1 Night Ekaterina from Luxembourg, Luxembourg
1 Night Andreas from Hamburg, Germany
1 Night Roxanne and Fred from Montreal, Canada
3 Nights Carlos and Israel from Guadalajara, Mexico
2 Nights Lacey Rose from Portland, USA
1 Night Noochy from Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 Night Sara and Lena from Ann Arbor and New York, USA
1 Night Cochise and Nathalie from Geneva, Switzerland
2 Nights Grace from Taipei, Taiwan
2 Nights Abbey from Edinburgh, UK
4 Nights Sashank from Hyderabad, India
3 Nights Weston from Lawrence, USA
1 Night Linda from Dresden, Germany
1 Night Sandra from Torino, Italy
2 Nights Hernan and Ana from Torino, Italy
1 Night Guy & Marianne from Berlin, Germany
2 Nights Sera and Ashley from Saskatoon, Canada
1 Night Michael and Gregory from Sand Springs, USA


1 Night at Nat+David Marciano in Renens, Switzerland
2 Nights at Jini in Bern, Switzerland
2 Nights at Patrícia Falcão in London, UK
3 Nights at BRIE in Munich, Germany


3rd CS Berne Stammtisch on the 5th Jan. 2008
4th CS Berne Stammtisch on the 7th Feb. 2008
Concert of "The Boss Hoss" on the 13th Feb. 2008
1st CS Berne Games evening on the 15th Feb. 2008
Walk around la Tchaux on the 17th Feb. 2008
CS-Party at Päscus place on the 22th Feb. 2008
5th CS Berne Stammtisch on the 5th March 2008
2nd CS Berne Games evening on the 15th March 2008
CERN Open Day on the 6th April 2008

Upcoming Events

- no couch available
- Hosting 1 Couchsurfer - three places available
- Hosting 2 Couchsurfer - two places available
- Hosting 3 Couchsurfer - one place available
- Hosting 4 Couchsurfer - no places available
- CS Meeting / Event
- We are traveling - no couch available


I'm interested in many things...

- Traveling
Traveling is one of my passions... wether by foot, bike, car (camper-lorry), by train or airplane doesn't matter. Most importante are the people I'm traveling with and the ones I meet during my travels. For shure I'm also interessted in the country, the culture of the people living in the country, the history of the country...

- our Camper-Lorry

We've bought an old lorry (Mercedes Benz LA 911B) from the german border police and have converted it to our camper-lorry. I could talk about all night... so be prepared when you plan to talk about with me ;)

- our Motorcycle

We own a Royal Enfield Taurus - a diesel-powered motorcycle. It's planed as the jollyboat of our camper-lorry. But I've still to learn all the special technices to fix it by myself.

- History
There are many different aspects I'm interested in... beginning by the greater coherences up to nitpicking details on how to sew shoes from the 1470ies in the Burgundy... and why it was done this way (See also below Reenactment).

- Reenactment
I'm part of the Company of Saynt George. The CoSG is an international group from all over europe recreating a burgundian artillery unit from between 1460 and 1480.

- Live Roleplaying
I was doing live roleplaying for several years now... most of it in Switzerland and southern Germany. Be it as an oriental merchant in Tikon, as a knight in Lyrien / Friedland or as a victorian snob in London around 1889 (Jack the Ripper-like story)... done that and much more else while having much of fun ;)

- playing Board- and Cardgames as also PnP Rolpaying
I love to play games... most of all strategic ones. For example Civilization (not Sid Meiers version... the "original" from Avalon Hill), Settler of Catan, Age of Renaissance, Britannia, Republic of Rome, Titan, Kings & Things,... but also parlour games like Carcassonne, Anno Domini, Robo Rally, "Gemischtes Doppel", black stories, Munchkin, Illuminati,...
Card games are also great fun... for e.g. Tichu, Jass, Ein solches Ding, Magic the Gathering, and many others more.

- hiking / backcountry skiing
I love to go hiking in summer and do backcountry skiing in winter. Up till now I only did one-day-trips, but would love to do also more-day-trips. Most often I’m in the Bernese Alps or the Jura.

- wilderness
Some years ago I learned about which wild plants are eatable – and also how to cook with them. Even though in the past I didn’t do it a lot – due to lack of time – I would like to do it more often again and learn more about it.

- photography
Recently I started to engage in photography – but still have to learn a lot. Up till now I only did landscape and architecture photography and still am trying to master it – but would also love to broaden one’s horizon :)

- meeting friends and also new persons

- discover other cultures

- languages (etymology)

  • culture
  • architecture
  • photography
  • concerts
  • cooking
  • partying
  • traveling
  • magic
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • emergency services
  • etymology
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

- Films by Jim Jarmusch, Aki Kaurismäki, David Lynch,
Dogma 95 movies (Festen, Idioten,...), Roberto Benigni,
Stanley Kubrick, ...
- Medieval/Fantasy:
LotR, A Knights Tale, Henry V, Pirates of the Caribbean, ...
- Comedy as for e.g.
Rossini, Schtonk, Wir können auch anders, Good Bye, Lenin!,
Withnail and I, ...

- Medieval / fantasy novel:
Ken Follett - The Pillars of the Earth, novels by Rebecca
Gable, LotR nad other Tolkien stuff, ...
- Travel literature

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

We've bought a Lorry, even neither of us had the appropriate driving license - but meanwhile I do :)

Other amazing things were diverse experiences I made while playing live roleplay... nowhere else you get to know people better.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you many things about how to import an old lorry to Switzerland and how to convert it to a Camper. Beginning by the vehicle-frame up to building your own fridge... at the moment I haven't done everything by myself yet... but the theory and the plans are all present.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovenia, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    16 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups