Chris Hailey's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile.

Overview

  • 17 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • SPED Teacher
  • Graduate
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello there!

My name's Chris and I'm looking to meet like-minded individuals for cultural exchanges, daft and self-deprecating jokes, and general funsies.

I'm a big food fan and I love it when my hosts have introduced me to their favorite regional eats. Always interested in hikes, museums, and off-the-beaten track events and experiences. I love exploring nightlife with locals!

I'm also gay, vaccinated, and progressive leaning. If that's a problem for you, you should pass by.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing has provided me with some very unique experiences and an opportunity to meet and maintain relationships with a handful of hosts worldwide. It's allowed me to break free of my comfort zone, socialize when it may feel hard, and give back to the people who've hosted me.

Although I have used the app infrequently in the past few years, I've stayed with 8 hosts and have been able to repay it to them by hosting them during their trips to the U.S.!

Interests

  • dogs
  • literature
  • architecture
  • cooking
  • hiking
  • camping
  • rock climbing
  • biking
  • people watching
  • new cultures
  • meeting new people
  • indie rock
  • urban exploring
  • sustainable living
  • urban gardening
  • garage rock
  • window shopping
  • baking bread
  • bread baking

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Modest Mouse; Fleet Foxes; The Smashing Pumpkins; The White Stripes (and Jack White as a whole)

Movies: The Omen (the 1970s version); Lilo and Stitch; Dawn of the Dead (1970s version); Memoirs of a Geisha; Howl's Moving Castle

Books: His Dark Materials; The White Album; When You're Engulfed in Flames

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Danced flamenco during a regional party in Cadiz

Teach, Learn, Share

What I Can Teach: English; Southern Cookin'

What I'd Like to Learn: Culture, customs, language, and social/political stigmas. Also, I just generally like meeting new people.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A witty, sensible, and self-deprecating sense of humour.

How to cook like the southern belles of the American South.

My wine, should I buy a bottle.

Also you'll be added to my mailing list, so you'll become a recipient of slightly daft postcards.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile.

My Groups