Chris McGorlick's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • I've done all sorts, from being a cook, a barista, musici...
  • I learned plenty at university, just not so much about ho...
  • From Numurkah, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see my world at home with the same critical eye, and seek out the same quality of experiences, that I have been able to see and do whilst travelling overseas.

ABOUT ME

I'm a pretty easy going guy. My friends think i am a mega-dork, and I have trouble denying it. I get on well with all sorts of people, once I've gotten past any initial awkwardness or shyness. I love to hear a good story almost as much as I love to tell one, and I've lost many evenings and cups of tea amidst a thousand tangents.
I'm interested in living lightly, and celebrating people's creative potential. This has led me to gardening, music, handcrafts (i'm an amateur bookbinder), sustainable buildings and lifestyles. I'm looking for ways to make the pursuit of these my living, rather than buying them after earning a wage elsewhere.
I work as a barista at one of the best cafes I've ever found outside a major city, and it's a great magnet for all the creative and alternative types hiding in the woodwork that is the country. Come and visit, and let me make you a coffee that will have you convinced you're still in North Fitzroy!

PHILOSOPHY

Every time I think I have this figured out, I learn something new, or meet someone that changes everything. I don't expect to ever have a conclusive personal philosophy.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've recieved a lot of generosity and hospitality over the years, both through the Couch Surfing website, and informally. I won't be travelling for a quite a while, so I am keen to host to return some of the kindness I have received, and to bring the world to my doorstep.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've surfed many couches whilst traveling across North America, and throughout the UK. All of my experiences have been really positive, and i've met some really great people who I hope to remain in touch with. I hope to build upon this experience to become an excellent host myself.

Interests

I enjoy playing music (piano, bass, ukulele, trumpet), live music, gardening, cooking, hanging around in cafes, and telling stories. I like to be able to do things for myself, so I like to make stuff when I'm at home, and walk and cycle when I'm travelling.

  • books
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • woodworking
  • music
  • live music
  • piano
  • trumpet
  • cycling
  • surfing

Music, Movies, and Books

There are so many. How about one of each. High Fidelity (film), Cake (band), Girlfriend in a Coma (book)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I started a music festival in my tiny little home town. it's had a pretty major influence on everything i've done since.
I've walked 1500km across Japan, and ridden a bicycle 4500km across America. Both were major highlights of my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know how to bind books! I also know a bit about gardening, cooking, and bicycle maintenance.

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Germany, Iceland, Japan, Jordan, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile. It’s free!