Logo orange

Chris Landis

Denver, CO, USA

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 14 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 22, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Bilingual Special Education Teacher
  • McGill University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy all the lovely things that my new home of Colorado has to offer!

ABOUT ME

I am a small town boy from NJ-- when it came time for me to go to university, I decided it was time I got out of my comfort zone and gain some new experiences. I chose to go to Montreal to study and it was one of the best decisions that I have ever made. Since then, I have completed my undergrad in Spanish language, History and International development. I studied and lived in Mexico (DF) and Ecuador, and am now working as a Special Education Teacher in Denver, CO.

PHILOSOPHY

life's short, do what you love!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm an outgoing guy that will try (almost) anything once. I want to get out of my comfort zone, meet new people and experience something other than the life I grew up living.

Currently looking for travelers to host!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I spent a month couchsurfing around Spain in July of 2012, what an experience.

I used CS a bunch when I was living in Mexico, and now I am living in Denver and looking to meet up with people-- our house is not quite set up yet, so for now I am mostly looking for meetups in the Denver area, but I will be hosting travelers soon!

Interests

Hiking, food, drinking, bars, canoeing, languages, culture, architecture, meeting people, experiencing life! Also photography, naps, hammocks, camping, biking, wilderness and getting off the beaten track (in the woods as well as cities!), adventure sports/adrenaline, sharing experiences. COOKING. COOKING ANYTHING.

Music, Movies & Books

Books: Hemingway, Fitzerald, McCarthy, Whitman, Tolkien (esp. The Hobbit); interesting nonfiction; swashbuckling adventure stories from the likes of Verne, Wells and Stevenson; dystopian literature, especially The Road and 1984. Also I am a sucker for anything Harry Potter.

Music-folk, MGMT, Mumford and Sons, The Strokes, Florence and the Machine, The Black keys, the Arkells, Of Monsters and Men, Edward Sharpe, Lana del Rey

Movies: favorites include Captain America, The Avengers, Star Wars, The Bourne Trilogy, Ocean's 11, The Illusionist, Sean Connery + Daniel Craig James Bond movies, Sherlock Holmes, Star Trek, V for Vendetta, Shrek, Aladin, The Motorcycle Diaries, 127 Hours, Drive, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, Black Swan, Moonrise Kingdom

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Living in Montreal, Running with the bulls and eating octopus in Spain. Studying in DF, working with refugees in northern ecuador. Also just existing, which is a pretty cool thing when you think about it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a lot of backbacking and leadership experience, I would love to share that with people! I am proficient in photography and would love to help people with that to the extent that I can.

I am also a native english speaker, and would love to share my language with you!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Ecuador, Ireland, Mexico, Portugal, Spain

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile