Christa Dankert

Ankara, Ankara, Turkey

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christa’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Spanish, Turkish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • English Teacher
  • Liberal Arts/Humanities Bachelor of Arts - English Litera...
  • From Madison, WI USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


Making mistakes; Living the dream.


I am currently living, teaching, and studying at Bilkent University in Ankara, Turkey. My contract expires July 2012 so after that -- who knows! It was more of less luck and chance that I am here, as are most of the best things in my life happen. I am a very ambitious, yet laid-back person. And I'm hoping that I will be fortunate enough to spend the next 10 years or more travelling and living in new places across the world!


Live and let live.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have met up with a few people via couchsurfing which have been really great experiences. A close friend and neighbor regularly has couchsurfers and most of my participation thus far has involved her surfers. Really hoping to get more involved soon.


I don't have a ton of experience courchsurfing...I have yet to host anyone in my apartment (so far there just haven't been convenient circumstances for the requests I've received). I have only surfed once, in Egypt, and it was a really great experience so I am hoping it is something I can continue with in all of my travels and eventually return the favor!


I LOVE books, reading them, talking about them, anything! I love meeting and getting to know new people, being a student, languages, travelling, yoga and pilates, working out, writing....I am also a very active person and adore nature and the outdoors (something I have no doubt inherited from growing up in the State of Wisconsin!) I've really enjoyed the last 2+ years teaching and would like to continue to explore the career path in the future, but remain open-minded to all of life's possibilities. Currently waiting on a grad school application in Sociology....

Music, Movies, and Books

This always feels exasperating: Books, please see; Movies, I have an odd attraction to mega-films about historical events, granted most of the information proliferated is more than slightly skewed, but I can't help but to be drawn to them; Music, sometimes I take myself on 2 hour walks just to enjoy my ipod and I definitely judge people based on their playlists even though mine are usually pretty trashy and erratic, but I really can jam out to just about anything. Current favorites: Oh Land, Florence + the Machine, La Roux, Marina and the Diamonds, Giorgia, Tina Dico, Mumford and Sons, Grouplove.....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Made it out of my hometown! Might not seem like much, and a bit cliche...but it's a lot to me and sadly, the cliches are kind of the only thing in my repertoire right now..... Hoping to add "climbed a mountain" to this list in the near future.

Teach, Learn, Share

Hmmmm....what do I have to offer? I used to be a decent knitter, but haven't touched my needles in awhile. Recently, I'm really really into health and fitness and can share lots of fun facts about that. After spending almost three years doing it - probably the longest I've done anything - I could happily exchange ideas and practices regarding teaching. I'm sure I have other talents or odd bits of interesting information, but my office is not really the hot spot for memory stimulation, imagination, or creativity....Oh! I've just decided to take up rock climbing and would love to hear more about it from anyone with some experience. Also just applied to a Sociology grad program...another great topic for conversation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Christa’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups