Christian Thygesen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 75 References 71 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English, French, German; learning Japanese, Norwegian Bokmål, Polish, Swedish
  • 51, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Consultant within Finance
  • Economics & Business
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

NB1: Just to make it clear, as can be seen below, I live a good half hour outside the city. If you still wish to stay at my place, I would kindly ask you to send me a request that VERY CLEARLY reflects
- that you actually read my profile,
- that you understand and are happy with staying half an hour outside the city

Please do not just send me a mass-mail ("personal" messages like "you seem to be a cool person", "I like your profile" or "you have many positive references" are no indication that you actually read my profile!) that you send to anyone offering a couch in Copenhagen :-) I will for sure turn it down.

PS: Over time, I have become increasingly selective about accepting surfers. Other than the obvious, (that I need to be at home and not be engaged in other activities), I look for people whom I believe would be fun and interesting to be with, would be self-reliant and do not need or expect my help in finding their way, showing them around the city or helping them with various practical matters.

This being said, I tremendously enjoy sharing a meal and having an interesting discussion or just a good laugh with my visitors, or even more importantly, that you can interact with the kids, try to get them to talk in English, and generally expose them to something else that the massive Danishness in which they grow up :-)

And so I would be less inclined to accept anyone who just needs a bed, arriving late at night and leaving little opportunity to actually meet and have som esort of meaningful exchange.


I am 48 years old, I have three kids, and I work in finance

I grew up abroad, lived, studied, worked in 5 different countries, travelled quite a bit earlier, stayed with host families all over the world, always appreciated - and much preferred - meeting the people who live in the country rather than staying at a hotel

I thought I might want to pay back some of the generosity bestowed on me earlier and meet people from various places, now that I don't travel so much anymore. Also want to expose the kids to people from different places.

My every day routines can vary a lot, some periods I will be very busy, and others not so. This of course influences my ability to spend time with surfers. Generally I will not be interested in going to town (or partying) with surfers, but very much hope that we can have at least one dinner together while you are here.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I encountered CS on a trip to Estonia in August 2013, and while I did not surf with anyone, I met up with some Estonians and had a very interesting time with them, clearly enriching the experience of the visit.

When coming home to Denmark, I kept my profile, and slowly the requests came trickling in. Over time it developed into a virtual shower of requests, forcing me to be significantly more selective.


I have hosted so many surfers that I lost count long ago, but I guess it must be well over 200 since August 2013.

I have also surfed at one occasion, a one-night stop-over in Brooklyn (NYC) with the kids, staying with a French lady there - most enjoyable!


My kids and my little consultancy company :-)

  • partying
  • traveling
  • socializing

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Benin, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, China, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Senegal, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Denmark, Japan, Luxembourg, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile. It’s free!