Christina Rena's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christina’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Greek (modern); learning Finnish, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Financial news reporter
  • Master's degree in Media
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm from Greece and currently living in Brussels. I just finished my traineeship at the European Parliament and I'm eager to start a new chapter in my life, either here in Belgium or elsewhere!

I am passionate about learning languages; Finnish, Russian, Spanish, Italian are some I have spent time on, currently studying German. I also like drawing - with all kinds of mediums, mostly digital, but I want to do more wall painting.

I have lived in Corfu, Athens in Greece and in Tampere, Finland for one year and I feel like it's shaped me to a large degree. This also means that I could never say no to an evening at a proper sauna.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couches and beds are made to be used by people. I want all my furniture to feel like they are contributing to the apartment - no piece of furniture should be made to feel superfluous, and I am committed to helping mine achieve their goals and lead fulfilling lives.

Also, meeting people is cool. Especially Couchsurfers! Even though my Couchsurfing experience is limited, I've had some of the most memorable experiences ever with the people I've hosted.

I live in a suburb of Brussels, a little far from the center but still well connected via public transport, along with 3 cats and my roommate/ landlady.

Interests

Tea and Coffee, Graffiti, Languages, an unexplored fascination for IT-stuff, David Lynch, Adam Curtis, forests, hammocks, psychedelic art and music, books
I used to do a lot of BP debating :)
I am a Duolingo nerd! Don't follow me if a 2,000+ day streak would demotivate you :P

  • culture
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • languages
  • translation

Music, Movies, and Books

Hallucinogen, Shulman, Monk on acid, Etheogenic, Emancipator, Ott (never gets old), Tripswitch, Sphongle, and then I also like metal and stuff (All them Witches, Naxatras, Rammstein, Agalloch, A Perfect Circle, Katatonia)

Apocalypse Now must be my favorite movie of all time. Most recently: Poor Things. Lanthimos is worth checking out.

Books: I mostly like non-fiction. Chaos by James Gleick, How to think straight about psychology, The world of wisdom by Gaarder, The global minotaur... Irvin Yalom's books are also nice.
Steppenwolf is a literary masterpiece to my mind.
A few years ago I tried to read a book on the prehistory of mankind in German. Learnt some German, but the history stuff didn't register as easily in a foreign language :)
Here in Brussels, The other side by Alfred Kubin really spoke to me.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Existing while not regretting my decisions most of the time.
Running a half-marathon of 21km
The fact that I can understand something like 7 languages also tends to be regarded as noteworthy by people.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I sometimes make portraits or pixel art for my friends. You can find my art on Instagram (christine_ren).

Countries I’ve Visited

Bulgaria, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovenia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Finland, Greece

Join Couchsurfing to see Christina’s full profile.

My Groups