Christina Yun's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christina’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • CRNA
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! My name is Christina Yun and I am 35 year old single Korean American woman born and bred New Yorker. I currently live in Queens and work in NYC as a nurse anesthetist in a cancer hospital. It is quite a rewarding profession working along side surgeons and helping patients.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to meet other like minded travelers. Seeing the world can be costly, but it doesn't have to be. New York in particular doesn't cater to budget friendly travelers, so since I have the resources I would love to bless others.

Interests

In terms of travel. I spend three months in Central America in 2014, back packing and wanting to learn Spanish. Spend 5 weeks in Mexico in 2015. Recently took a trip to Colombia. I love to travel and meet kindred spirited travelers. My style of traveling in these countries was hostels. I have met so many amazing and inspiring people along the way and love how our lives can momentarily connect through this short journey of life. I try to stay away from party hostels and find hostels that are social, but not over the top. I try to find towns and spots that are off the beaten path and mingle with locals to really get an essence of the people and country. This honestly gets my heart so excited!

Music, Movies, and Books

I love food and good food and good company. =D My favorites would be Korean, Japanese, Italian, Mexican, Thai, Mediterranean, Indian and all kinds of sweet desserts. I am a fan of communal dinner tables and all things wooden and rustic.

I like reading historical fiction. Some favorites would be All the Light you can not see, Cutting for Stone, Pillars of the Earth.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was in international observer with CISPES (Committed in Solidarity with the People of El Salvador) during the 2014 El Salvadorean presidential election.

Teach, Learn, Share

In my spare time I take classes(my last one was in calligraphy), bike, hike, explore new restaurants, and enjoy all that New York has to offer. I am also currently taking classes to learn how to teach English as a second language and volunteer teach on my days off. I love meeting new immigrants, hearing their stories and forging new relationships.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My apartment is in Jackson Heights, Queens. It is a very diverse immigrant neighborhood with lots of hole in the wall type places. It is quieter than Manhattan, but still quite a bustling neighborhood. It is only a 13 minute walk to several express trains into Manhattan.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Italy, Kenya, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Philippines, Russian Federation, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, Uganda

Join Couchsurfing to see Christina’s full profile. It’s free!