Christina Ng's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christina’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Product Manager
  • National University of Singapore
  • From Singapore
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I was born and raised in Singapore, but I currently work and live in California, US. I work in the tech industry, and I think that makes me pretty nerdy by association. In my free time, I indulge myself in cross-stitching, yoga, gaming, reading, running, planning my next travel destination, but mostly just catching up on sleep :/ I enjoy eating and having a good meal, although my favorite food is definitely ice cream.

I'm mostly pretty chill, especially when it comes to travels. I dont always plan my travel itinerary, and much prefer to go somewhere, chill for a bit, take it easy and then see what's there to do in that place. This allows me to have zero expectations, which almost always makes every trip full of surprises filled with amazing memories and exciting stories.

I love traveling, experiencing new cultures, swapping stories and meeting new people from the international community. I'd be more than happy to hang out with you over a cup of tea :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It is usually difficult for me to host people, since I'm renting only a room, but I'd love to meet up and hang out if you're in town.

My first CS experience was in Fairbanks, Alaska. Our super wonderful host, Art, spoiled us to bits! I had a great experience with him, and would love to meet more people in the CS community.

I'm an extroverted introvert. I prefer hanging out in a smaller groups, and that is why I much prefer meeting CS-ers rather than just meeting random strangers in a large hostel.

Interests

I grew up in Singapore, which is a city state and by definition makes me a city girl. I was never really much into nature growing up. However, after living in California for the past 6 years, I now have a newfound appreciation for nature, hiking and camping.

I enjoy scuba diving, although I don't get to do it as often as I'd like. So far, I've dived in Thailand, Taiwan, Hawaii, and California. I really really want to go diving in Maldives some day.

I'm pretty nerdy and I enjoy playing games - both video games (like StarCraft 2) and board games. My favorite board game is Hanabi.

I care a lot about personal fitness, and make it a point to exercise multiple times a week. I mainly exercise so I can eat without guilt. Recently, I got a little more into running thanks to the events organized by RunDisney. So far, I have ran 2 half marathons this year. I will be running another one in Paris in Sep and maybe another one in Nov. I have never been, and am not a huge fan of running, but the runner's high is what gets me going every time. When I'm feeling slightly lazy, I go for yoga classes which helps me with relaxation. I'm only a beginner yogi, but I love how it helps me feel relaxed/ stretch, and more present at the same time.

Food is a big part of my life. I'm not particularly picky about food, but I do enjoy a good meal. In fact, I went to culinary school part time so I could learn proper techniques in order to better appreciate the art of cooking.

A lesser known hobby of mine is cross stitching. My proudest piece that I finished the Disney Fantasia piece, a 14"x20" 28 count linen project that took me 19 months. Right now, I'm working on another similar sized Disney's Enchanted project. Yes, I'm a huge fan of Disney in case you haven't realized.

  • yoga
  • video games
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • boardgames
  • cross stitching

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy electronic dance music, especially uplifting trance.

I havent watched movies as much in recent years, but I always make it out to watch the latest Pixar animation or Star Wars movie. I watch a lot more TV shows, and I love American dramas/ sitcoms such as Game of Thrones, Big Bang Theory, Greys Anatomy, etc.

I much prefer listening to audiobooks/ podcasts as this allow me to multitask - listening while driving/ listening while cross stitching. Some of my favorite podcasts include This American Life, Planet Money, Radiolab, Invisibilia, Reply All, Science Vs.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Too difficult for me to just pick ONE, so I'll just list some of the experiences that I'd love to remember:

Hiking the Tiger Leaping Gorge, Yunnan China
Watching geysers at Yellowstone National Park
Watching the sunrise at He Huan Mountain, Taiwan
Flying around Fairbanks, Alaska
Volunteering in the Kingdom of Bhutan

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm happy to practice conversational English and Chinese (Mandarin) with you. If you're interested, I'm happy to show you the basics of cross stitching as well. This is a lil bit of a nerdy stretch but I can also explain programming to you if you're ever interested to know more about tech.

Mostly, I'm just excited to learn about YOU and your story. I think everyone has an interesting story and I would love to hear yours. It's all about connecting the dots :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bhutan, Canada, China, Cuba, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Singapore, Taiwan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Christina’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups