Logo orange

Christoph's Groups

Christoph Kals

Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christoph's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • discovering. experiencing. living. a...
  • ...well educated
  • From muenster/ Tirol
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

re-setlling in Austria (including work) after traveling in southamerica for about 6 months

ABOUT ME

Growing up in the Austrian Alps my life has always been about nature and activities in the nature. I love snowboarding, mountainbiking and being outdoors. Currently I´m living in Vienna and enjoy living there.
My first "big" travels took me to South- east Asia for 6 months after my studies. And I´ve immediately realized that this was something I wanted to do for a long time. I´ve discovered surfing and figuring out how much I actually need to meet new people, discover new places, experience new things, discuss other opinon as well as beeing by the sea- to travel.
Since then, I´m hooked on traveling.
I had a serious accident 2 years ago and after my recovery I I told myself to enjoy my days even more and take a break off work. I´ve just came back from traveling in South America where I spent 6 months and therefore decided to take a break off work. I´m working as a technical consultant and travel quite a lot on business trips. And now I like to come up with other ways to have money for the things I like to do.

Well, I´m curious what´s next. Life always comes up with new and exciting people, ideas and opportunities..

PHILOSOPHY

You have to leave the shore to discover new continents!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Sharing stories and experiences with people. Currently I´m travelling, but I´d be able to host people once back in Europe.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had people staying at my place but did not actually use the Couchsurfing.org network yet. I´ve participated on activities and events via CS and enjoyed the company very much. I´m looking forward to surf, experience and contribute.

Interests

I absolutely like to do sports and especially outdoor sports on water and land. Whenever possible I like to travel and explore, getting to know people, discover and have a great time together. I like to talk with people, to exchange opinions and discuss our understanding of society and our world.
I´m currently making up my mind to find alternative ways (i.e. more flexible ways) to earn money for a living. I´m working on something to allow me to even more live my life the way I intend to.

Music, Movies & Books

I like to read a lot (different genres), e.g.
"Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy" by Douglas Adams,
"Shock Therapy" by Naomi Klein, etc.

I also like watching movies, again, of many different genres, depending on the mood and circumstances. I´d recommend "Zeitgeist" (there are 3 parts to that), which encourages one to think twice and actually doubt the "facts" we are constantly told by our governments, media and others.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

-finally coming up to Machu Pichu after hiking for 3 days
-standing in the incredibly wide and white salt desert of "Salar de Uyuni"
-the various moments when we enjoyed perfect kite surfing on the in Cumbuco and Jericoacoara in Brazil
...

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Indonesia, Malaysia, Morocco, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Christoph's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile