Christopher Ford's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christopher’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 3 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • No languages listed
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Healthcare IT Strategy by day, writing musicals by night,...
  • No education listed
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me


Spending a year travelling, first with my two sons, and now with just little ol' me.


I'm a 43 year old Dad who set out with my two sons (ages 16 & 14) to spend a year travelling. They decided to return home but we all wanted to me to keep at it so that is what I now find myself doing. The trip was always about being able to meet new people, see new places, learn, experience. Now though it's about me doing that.

Things to know about me are that I like meeting people, asking questions, learning from them, discussing some of the big questions about life and what we're all trying to do here anyway. I enjoy new experiences, but can be cautious aot of the time, and need an extra poke to get out of my comfort zone. I don't mind being poked though.

Back home in Canada I work in Healthcare IT, however I have a passion for music and theatre and enjoy writing.


I'm still figuring this one out. Generally though I think my philosophy centres around the idea that we are all entitled to happiness in our lives, but that we have to work at it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm new to couch surfing. The boys and I did it once while we were in Iceland, but other opportunities to do so did not come through. I'm hoping that changes as I keep trying for it. I'm also hoping that when I get back home that I will be able to open my doors to travellers coming through Toronto and keep learning about the world that way.


None. But hoping for some along the way in this coming year, and then planning on continuing to meet new people by being a host when we get back.


Name it.

I have yet to encounter something I am not interested in I think. I like to learn, and most topics are fair game. I'm not sure which ones aren't. I enjoy reading and do a great deal of it. I love musical theatre and don't do enough of it. Live music, theatre, film. All good stuff.

Walking, love to walk. It's my favourite way to get my bearings and discover a new place. I enjoy seeing old places, feeling the "bones" of a city, sitting on a patio and watching people walk by while enjoying the afternoon sun. Being outside and exploring nature.

  • writing
  • walking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • live music
  • surfing

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies & TV: Anything by Joss Whedon.
Books: Pretty much anything. Right now enjoying reading through lots of Brit detective novels.
Music: Again, pretty much all. Honestly.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My sons. I don't think anything really compares to how I felt when they arrived on the planet.

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, Iceland, Ireland, Singapore, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Christopher’s full profile. It’s free!